Mexican Style Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
These were so easy and very good. Slightly spicier than I thought they would be, but that was okay. I would recommend this recipe if you like spicy, smokey meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shawnda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
everyone in my family loves em. I took them to our family reunion and everyone asked I bring them again next year. easy to make and not too costly. good for an appetiser or even as a main dish just add a side of rice or pasta and you have a terrific meal. the only thing I did differently was bake the meatballs instead of frying. This is placed on my favorites list and I know you will love them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I love this recipe!!! I made it for a cocktail party and kicked up the spice a bit by adding more peppers. My guests loved it, but begged me to tone it down for the next time. I promise to stay true to the recipe next time. Best recipe I've gotten from this site... EVER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamden, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
These were fantastic. Keep in mind that you must love chipotle peppers to really enjoy these meatballs, and there are some people that just don't like them. For those that are leaving out the chipotle in this recipe and replacing with something else, you may be getting a good meatball, but you are not getting the meatball this recipe is intending to offer, you are getting a different meatball, and seems unfair to rate it. The chipotle is a main ingredient in this recipe. Thanks for posting your delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2008
Not bad but it was missing something; not sure what though. The only changes I made were to add finely diced onion to the meat mixture, and also threw in a small can of tomato paste to the sauce as it was a bit watery. The cilantro provided extra flavor but, as I say, it needed something else. Thanks though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
This was very good. I can't find chipotles in adobo sauce ANYWHERE up here, but I used some mild salsa instead...very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonfire!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Toro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Very tasty. I added some oregano and some ancho chili powder. Also added 1 extra small can of tomatoes and used 5 chipolte peppers with sauce instead of two. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Although I prefer standard Italian-style meatballs over this for meatball subs, it was certainly a nice change of pace. My family tried it both in buns and then over rice instead the next night. We definitely liked it over rice the best. I suppose it could also be served standalone as an appetizer with toothpicks....but then you'd waste all of that yummy sauce. I think it works best as a meal over rice (mashed potatoes would be good, too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
If you like spicy food, this is a winner! Love the smoky flavor of the sauce. Hubby loved it! This recipe will be a regular repeat for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Made these for my daughter and I for dinner and we loved them! I used ground turkey for this, tomato puree instead of the diced tomatoes, nixed the salt and the cilantro and added chopped onion and chili powder to the meat mix and the sauce. Next time I will take others advice and put a cube of cheese inside each meatball; probably pepper jack. I served the dish over rice but I can see this being a nice little appy too. Delicious and thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Mexican Potato Nachos

Taters step in for tortilla chips, & nachos get an instant upgrade to main dish.

Mini Penne with Meatballs

See how to make meatballs and pasta in a creamy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States