Mexican Style Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
Be sure to make a double batch-this one will go quick! Great appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
My "picky girl" lliked this alot! I added refried beans after the cream cheese (had some extra) and didn't even heat it up and she dug right in!! Good idea for left over taco meat (& beans)! Thanks Lynn!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
OH WOW!!!! What a GREAT recipe!!! was very easy and very delicious. I added 2 cups mexican style shredded cheese to the meat mixture plus the cheese on top!!! Made it VERY tasty!!! I made a double batch to take to a birthday party last week and not a bite left to bring home. Was asked for the recipe by lots of people. Some were even parents that told me their kid wanted them to get it from me!!! WILL DEFINITELY MAKE AGAIN!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
This dip was great and extremely easy to make. I made it for our Superbowl party, and it dissapeared quick! I would reccommend serving it with Corn Chips, or some sort of dipping chip, because the dip is really deep, and you get the full effect with all layers on your chip! Also, we tried it with Refried Beans on top of the cream cheese and loved it. We'll definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROOKIIEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I used reduced fat cream cheese, homemade taco seasoning, omitted the water and upped the salsa and used a full can of diced mild green chilies (I don't normally have fresh chilies on hand). I threw everything in the crockpot a few hours before our party and let it go until party time. GREAT party dip--all my guests loved it and it was not only quick and easy, it was cheap as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
It was only good straight out of the oven. As soon as the cheese cools off it hardens and is impossible to eat with chips. I will stick to the mexican style dips that are cold from now on. Also the recipe says to heat in oven just until cheese melts and the cream cheese was still cold when the cheese melted. I had to heat much longer than that. Won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
I made this for a Christmas party and it was completley gone in less than an hour. This recipe is incredibly good. It is definitely a keeper! I did make it with a few alterations. 1) I didn't add any water with the taco seasoning mix 2) I added the whole jar of salsa only because it didn't look as though 1/2 cup of salsa seemed like enough. Maybe because I didn't add the water???? 3)I added refried beans after the cream cheese per other people's suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
Excellent dip, got rave reviews! The combination of ingredients makes it a great success! Will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
This was pretty good. I added 1/2 a pound of sausage which I think made it even better. But with all the recipes to make - I probably won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
This should be called "Disappear Dip" because once I set it out, it disappeared. Served it to company and everyone loved it, especially the guys. I did add some beans on top of the cream cheese layer to just half the pan, just to try it. This was great, thanks for sharing, Lynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ManxGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Artichoke & Spinach Dip Restaurant Style

An amazing dip that’s as good as the original restaurant version.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States