Mexican Street Vendor Style Corn Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Just tried this recipe and it was dee-lish!!! Seriously? Some people didn't care for this? Bland? Are we following the same recipe?! This tastes like authentic Mexican street corn. I used canned corn because that's all I had on hand, tapatio hot sauce, cotiga cheese, half of a fresh squeezed lime, mayo and butter in the same amounts that the recipe called for and a wee bit of garlic powder (as I love my garlic powder on corn.) My kids even loved it. Rich and yummy. You can't go wrong! I blackened my corn a little bit before I added all of the other ingredients. I'll be making again and again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smile4nini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sonoma, California, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
What a great idea!! It did taste like those corns I got in LA! I missed those so much. I still do them at home but I like them best off the grill and that's just a heap of trouble. This is a quick fix for the memory. Thank you Parizienne!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
This is fantastic and full of flavor! I like that it's very easy and can be made in minutes. I used a full bag of frozen corn and substituted shredded Mexican style cheese for the cojita (too expensive!). It tasted just how I expected it to! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Harte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henley, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
I love Mexican corn! This was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akseverson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Followed the recipe to the letter and it is pretty bland and way too sour. Really not good. I'd planned to take it as a side to a dinner party. My fault for making an untried recipe. It's edible but not very good and certainly not something to bring to other people as an example of what I can make. Made it because it seemed easy and the submitter was listed as "Pro". Won't make this mistake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Just finished dinner with absolute raves about the corn. Cotija cheese also known as Queso Cotija or El Queso Cotija ,can be found at Winco and Raleys in my area. Delicious and oh so simple. My kids ate it up then licked the pot after! Its a perfect compliment to any Mexican dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom of five

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nevada City, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I never would have thought of putting mayo on corn, but it's delicious. I didn't have cotija cheese so I used parmesan instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TalaSunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Nice and simple recipe, but don't care for the cilantro as a garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I'm from So Cal too and this is so nostalgic. Thank you for this excellent recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This recipe is true to the real Mexican street vendor style. I grew up in Los Angeles where Mexican food is no stranger. From tamales, chicharones, and corn, these vendors are out on the daily (and sometimes nightly) basis. I strongly recommend using cotija cheese and, if you're lucky enough to have it, authentic Mexican cheese. If you can't get either, then try something like crumbled Feta cheese. It's salty enough to mimic cotija cheese. I used Feta all the time when I lived overseas and couldn't get cotija. Corn on the cob, whether grilled or boiled, tastes the best; but when there are no other options, canned or frozen corn will do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaliGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States