Mexican Street Vendor Style Corn Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This recipe is true to the real Mexican street vendor style. I grew up in Los Angeles where Mexican food is no stranger. From tamales, chicharones, and corn, these vendors are out on the daily (and sometimes nightly) basis. I strongly recommend using cotija cheese and, if you're lucky enough to have it, authentic Mexican cheese. If you can't get either, then try something like crumbled Feta cheese. It's salty enough to mimic cotija cheese. I used Feta all the time when I lived overseas and couldn't get cotija. Corn on the cob, whether grilled or boiled, tastes the best; but when there are no other options, canned or frozen corn will do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaliGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Yummy and great Mexican side dish! Used hot sauce instead of red pepper powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Just made this and LOVE it!! Even my Mexican neighbors never heard of this cheese so I used the Mexican cheese blend from the store and a few drops of hot sauce instead of the ground red pepper (and I don't even like hot sauce). But this was absolutely delicious and I'll share it with all my friends. And it's so quick because all you really need to do is heat the corn. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Excellent recipe!!! I doubled it and still the group devoured every bit. Many requests for the recipe and now it is my go to dish for any gathering with a Mexican food theme!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen Rowell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Terrific and easy (and even better when made with fresh corn!). It's become a favorite for family get-togethers - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
so simple and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. I used grated parmesan instead of cotija. A different cheese wouldn't have saved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
This is a great version but its even better with fresh grilled corn (works with steamed corn as well). I grew up spending many summers in Mexico as a kid and this was a great treat. I used corn on the cob, butter, mayo, parmesan cheese, bottled hot sauce (tapatio or amor), and 1/2 a lime. try it this way, its so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I made this recipe for a friends Mexican pot-luck night and it was great. I could not find Cotija cheese so I used grated Minas cheese instead and it worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Good corn recipe, very easy. Only problem that I had was that the cheese melted and clumped together, so it did not lend too much flavor. Next time I will just pass the cheese around for everyone to top their corn with, and I will cut back just a tad on the lime juice, I did use the full 2 tablespoons, next time I'll try 1 1/2 tablespoons. I added about 1 tablespoon of chopped cilantro as well because I love cilantro. I served this with grilled steaks, the liquid from the corn ran onto the steaks, and my wife loved the combination of the sauce and the steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States