Mexican Strawberry Water (Agua de Fresa) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kimberlya7
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This turned out really well. I started with half the sugar and it wasn't sweet enough. The full cup was a little too sweet, so I'd use 3/4 if I made it again. I used it with rum for a mixed drink and it was very good. I'd probably cut out 1/2-1 cup of water if you're using it as a mixed drink to keep the strawberry flavor. I had to dump and rinse my strainer several times because it got clogged up with the pulp, so allow a little time for that. A pleasant, refreshing surprise. I'd like to try other types of fruit with this, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I've made this recipe twice already. It's absolutely wonderful and refreshing. Both times I doubled the recipe, and it doesn't last long in my house. For adult drinks, I add Skyy Strawberry flavored Vodka; very yummy. I've always like pulp in drinks (orange juice, etc), so I don't strain the berries. I blend very well, throw all in large pitcher with water, and let set over night in fridge. Everyone loves the pulp and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This was one of my favorite beverages when I lived in Guadalajara! We'd make it the night before and drink it with breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Turned out great. Super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Gilroy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Delicious and refreshing!! I made this the night before our party (for Cinco de Mayo) - using 1/2 the sugar (1/2 cup) - and it was fabulous! I wouldn't have thought it would taste so "strawberry-y" but it did after it was in the refrigerator overnight. The day of our party, I added in the remaining water and some mint (decided to leave out the lime) as well as slices of strawberries and all of us RAVED about this light and refreshing drink! Personally, I thought the 1/2 cup of sugar to 4 cups strawberries was plenty sweet and so did several other people but a couple of my friends (who tend to like foods sweeter), added in more sugar at the table. I blended mine and served it without straining it. I love the pieces (though honestly, there were hardly any pieces since our blender does a great job at blending everything). It turned out frothy and sort of thick which was nice. I pictured water with chunks of strawberries, no flavor and disappointment but it was completely the opposite!! I will be making this recipe for my children on a regular basis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
A great change from just plain water. The only thing I did was put in half the sugar. I tried one glass with just the strawberry water and another with a slice of lime in it. I prefer the lime in it. It adds a nice twist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlishaL.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This is something new to me. I thought this was very good. The only thing is, because I did not have fresh limes and mint sprigs, I had to improvise by using mint extract and lime juice in place of these ingredients. The mint extract brings out the flavor in this beverage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Just as i remembered it, but my Mexican friends use to let the mixture ferment a little before diluting it and adding the ice. It was truly delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Great hit for my monthly family dinner!!! For a adult kick I added some coconut rum to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Unique_Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Hephzibah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Soda Syrup

Beat back the heat with ice-cold homemade strawberry sodas and lemonade!

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Fresh berries, skim milk, plain yogurt, and vanilla make a 5-star smoothie.

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States