Mexican Spicy Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Found the cilantro a little over-whelming and it wasn't hot/spicy at all. With a little alteration, I'd eat it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Very nice! This would make an excellent side, but we ate it as a vegetarian main dish. Colorful and tasty, this would be a hit during the warm summer months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Good base for a bean salad, was not at all spicy so I added jalepenos, omitted corn and added tomatoes. Also, I used stevia instead of splenda (would never cook with that poison known as artifical sweeteners). With those changes it came out pretty good. Also added extra hot sauce, but I like it spicy! Oh, and only needed half the oil/vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I have been making a version of this recipe for years. When my Boyfriend and I were craving salad for dinner, I looked this recipe up to see what we needed. I used sugar instead of Splenda because I am not a sugar substitute gal. I also added a fresh jalepeno for some bite. I put this salad on a bed of lettuce and topped it with avocado, tomato, and shredded pepper jack cheese. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MerBear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I really enjoyed this salad, especially the second day - if you like cold beans, you'll like this salad. We were split though on if it was a dip (which the kids prefered to eat with chips) or a salad but everyone loved it. I only had 1/3 cup red wine vinegar, used equal amounts of olive oil and one tablespoon sugar, but kept the spices the same. Next time I'll add a couple of dashes of hot sauce as well as a jalapeno pepper. This was way more than 8 servings for us - more like 14. Definitely a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This was good. The only thing I did different was omit the green pepper and added a bit more cilantro. Next time I will half the amount of oil and vinegar, it was more than enough. Very nutritious and colorful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Oh MY!! I loved this salad!!! SO VERY GOOD. I didn't use the Splenda but rather used white sugar to taste. Added extra cilantro (about a bunch), extra cumin and chili powder to taste and added a touch of paprika. I've been looking for a bean salad like this for some time....and now, I've found it. It's a KEEPER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FANTASKMANJAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Excellent ....used 1 packet of Stevia sugar substitute instead of 2 full tblspns. This was sweet enough with 1 lil packet. Also had to use dried cilantro leaves..1tsp. And 1tsp each of cumin, dried corriander, and chili powder. Great dressing! This was really not spicy at all...but delicious non the less. I added red hot pepper flakes to mine. Will be a summer goto salad. Really very good and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
This is excellent and always a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Made this first time for tailgating at TX Speedway. Loved it. Made it a 2nd time for pot lunch at work and folks all wanted leftovers. Changes to recipe included adding a can of chick peas and using entire lemon and lime. Also aded one finely chopped jalapeno. Make it a day ahead if you can - to allow flavors to blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

This authentic salad is bright with colors and complex flavors.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States