Mexican Spicy Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2015
This salad is EXCELLENT! I've made it several times and it's always a hit, even with the kids! Really the only changes I make is adding a bit more garlic and substituting raw honey for the Splenda. Easy and quick to make and Super healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Supertruckingirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Made this at work for a "Chopped" competition with the ingredients roasted red peppers, onions and tangerines. I substituted tangerine juice for the lemon and lime juices and added lots of little cut up bits of tangerines and then didn't add any additional sugar or sugar substitutes. I won the competition and now my coworkers ask me to make it about once a month to snack on for the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
One of my favorite dips to go with chips! I didn't change anything except I put in real sugar instead of Splenda. After preparing, give it a day in the fridge and it'll taste it's best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kai

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
What a delicious combo of flavours! I will use less olive oil next time. I added half a jalapeño (minus the seeds) in place of hot sauce. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Found the cilantro a little over-whelming and it wasn't hot/spicy at all. With a little alteration, I'd eat it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Very nice! This would make an excellent side, but we ate it as a vegetarian main dish. Colorful and tasty, this would be a hit during the warm summer months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Good base for a bean salad, was not at all spicy so I added jalepenos, omitted corn and added tomatoes. Also, I used stevia instead of splenda (would never cook with that poison known as artifical sweeteners). With those changes it came out pretty good. Also added extra hot sauce, but I like it spicy! Oh, and only needed half the oil/vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I have been making a version of this recipe for years. When my Boyfriend and I were craving salad for dinner, I looked this recipe up to see what we needed. I used sugar instead of Splenda because I am not a sugar substitute gal. I also added a fresh jalepeno for some bite. I put this salad on a bed of lettuce and topped it with avocado, tomato, and shredded pepper jack cheese. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MerBear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I really enjoyed this salad, especially the second day - if you like cold beans, you'll like this salad. We were split though on if it was a dip (which the kids prefered to eat with chips) or a salad but everyone loved it. I only had 1/3 cup red wine vinegar, used equal amounts of olive oil and one tablespoon sugar, but kept the spices the same. Next time I'll add a couple of dashes of hot sauce as well as a jalapeno pepper. This was way more than 8 servings for us - more like 14. Definitely a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This was good. The only thing I did different was omit the green pepper and added a bit more cilantro. Next time I will half the amount of oil and vinegar, it was more than enough. Very nutritious and colorful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States