Mexican Sour Cream Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I LOVE this recipe!! I leave out the Corn and use Black beans instead... (Personal preference/allergy) and I season it a little differently, but such a delicious recipe!! My husband and I both like it. He especially likes it as a side to Ham Steak. So tasty... Good as meal on it's own or as a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Good, easy, and bland. I added more sour cream, a can of drained and rinsed black beans, the juice of a lime to the rice, an extra 1/2 c of sour cream with a tsp of taco seasoning, and some Salsa Verde. Next time I'll leave the sour cream at one cup and bump the taco seasoning. Or add more Salsa Verde to the finished casserole. But I'll make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Use a larger can of corn and 2 cups of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktchpgrl00

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I made this scaling it down to two servings. For that small amount I didn’t want to open a can of green chile peppers, so I subbed a smaller amount of diced jalapenos from a jar. Other than that I followed the recipe. I was hoping for something a little creamier, but was disappointed. It looked sort of dry once it was completely mixed, so I baked this for half the time covered with foil. But that didn’t help. This was also pretty bland. If I try this one again I may add a little milk hoping to make this creamier and try to jazz up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I absolutely loved it. Served with Jalapeno Chicken and it was just right. Didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Very relish! I did add extra sour cream and cheese. It was a big hit. I would say that this recipe, as a side dish, feeds several more than 6. Added shredded chicken to leftovers for a main dish later in the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
It came out a little dry, but everyone still liked it. I will search the comments to find out how to get this fluffier next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
yum. really good rice side dish... used frozen corn instead of canned, as I prefer the frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I didn't use diced chiles instead i used a can of corn that had diced peppers in it. I also didn't use cilantro. I used cheddar cheese because that's all I had. Turned out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abbeyroad
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
My husband and I really enjoyed this dish and will be making it again! We definitely agreed with other reviewers that it needs more moisture, from sour cream or something else. One thing that we also thought was that it is a very versatile recipe and can be made with many other ingredients and flavors, not just a Mexican flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States