Mexican Sour Cream Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Good but just a little dry. I'll add more sour cream next time. I also added some black beans to mine and used brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIOCHANLEAT82

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This is a great recipe. I did use 2 c. sour cream, added black beans and doubled the green chiles. I also added cumin, chili powder and other herbs to boost it up. Next time I will use pepper jack and add roasted red peppers. Chicken would be fabulous too in this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Added: taco seasoning, some garlic, extra sour cream (regular not reduced fat), salsa, finely chopped onion (small amount), bacon bits & chopped chicken to mix. Covered it with extra colby/monterey jack cheese. I don't think it was bland after that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Family loved this -I thoght it was good. I added a few spices -cumin, cayenne, chili powder, onion, garlic and chipotle. Doubled the sour cream as suggested by others. With these changes it had a nice warm kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Rainess Jordan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Really yummy! My variation: I didnt have enough sour cream, so substitued cottage cheese mixed with heavy cream. I also added cumin. Very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I feel bad giving it 4 stars b/c I changed so much, but eh. I used beef broth, added half a can each of corn, black beans, and tomatoes. I added a few teaspoons of diced jalapenos (the kind from the jar) and I used one cup of sour cream and half a bar of cream cheese. Here's what I'll do next time: I'll cut the cream cheese in half and add a bit more sour cream. I'll add more jalapenos and perhaps some cayenne. I had served this with some chicken that I pan cooked and then slathered with hot salsa. Next time I'll cut up the chicken and mix it directly in the rice, as they worked so well together. I think perhaps the dish was missing spice which is why I gave it a 4 stars. Yummy dish, easy to make substitutions..will keep it in rotation. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I made this as a side dish last night to go with "tasty lentil tacos" from this site. I followed the recipe as written with 2 minor changes. Instead of the corn..I am allergic..I added some peas and carrots. And instead of the monterey jack cheese, I used pepper jack..because that's what I had at home. I liked the flavor but my husband thought that the sour cream kinda took over. I will probably make this again with just about a half cup of sour cream..or maybe even plain yogurt. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerDavis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I thought this was awesome!! I made it ahead to take to a party tomorrow so we'll see if it's dry then, but right now(an hour done), it's incredible. I added cumin to taste. I LOVE cumin. No other changes made. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Doubled it and it's a good thing too! It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buffy S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneva, Illinois, USA
Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
just wasn't impressed.....I added the chiles, black beans, doubled the sour cream, but I just felt it was bland. I took this to a potluck and did have compliments, but for myself I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewleigh
Home Town: Kingfisher, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States