Mexican Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
People like Chefsingledad should try keeping his opinions to himself especially when he didnt make the recipe. We dont need the food police going thru and making snide comments about recipes. The rating system is for people who made the recipe. We are all smart enough to gauge the nutritional value for ourselves. I actually made this recipe myself and found it very tasty. I had no problem with the canned ingredients. It was delicious with mexican cornbread. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
"Very healthy"? Sorry -- no way. Not with almost 2000g of salt in one serving (enough for one day). Try using fewer canned ingredients and more fresh ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
Awesome quick and easy soup. Modifications I made were the following: Used black beans instead of kidney beans (wife does not care for kidney beans) Added a can of diced tomatoes and chilis Seasoned with garlic, white pepper, and black pepper. Topped with Mexican shredded cheese and fried tortilla strips. SIMPLY AWESOME!!! Leftovers I used basic tortilla chips with the shreeded cheese and it was just as good (if not better after letting the flavors meld overnight).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
This turned out excellent, but only after I made a few changes. I added extra cumin, some garlic salt, a can of Rotel Mexican tomatoes with cilantro, peppers, lime and diced tomatoes and also added a small package of Velveeta cheese. Instead of plain cubed chicken breast meat, I bought a rotisserie chicken at Sam's and shredded that up. I LOVE Mexican and TexMex food, and with a little bit of shredded Monterey Jack on top and some crumbled tortilla chips, this made the perfect-tasting Mexican soup. I will definitely make this slightly varied version again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktclick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
Excellent and easy soup!! I added 3 1/2 cups of broth and a little more corn and it was a nice thick and colorful soup. Sprinkled cheese over each bowl and this dinner was a HUGE hit!! Will be making this again!! Thank you Bette!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
VERY GOOD! The first time I followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious. The second time we were out of stewed tomatoes so I just added rotel and it was just as good. We always top it with sour cream and cheddar cheese and eat with scoops tortilla chips. This recipe is definitely going into my book of regulars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
This was a good start to a really great soup. I added my usual garlic and onion powders, chili powder, black beans, pepperoncini for some spice and instead of the stewed tomatoes, I used a large jar of salsa. My leftover pork tenderloin from Sunday's dinner worked well with this. Family came back for seconds and I'm happy to say there's just enough left for lunch today. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Delicious Soup! I'm basing my rating on the 2 changes I made...I didn't add the green pepper because I didn't have any, and I added a can of black beans. It was delcious and simple to make! Topped each serving with sour cream and some cheddar cheese. I served it with corn bread muffins..yummy dinner! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
My family really enjoyed this recipe. I served this with corn muffins and it was a very hearty meal. This is a great weeknight recipe as it is very easy to throw together and the ingredients are items usually found in your pantry. I will definitely make this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Thank you! My husband came home from work with a cold, and I needed a soup, quickly! I followed your recipe, except that I didn't have peppers or chiles on hand. I used canned chicken, kidney and garbanzo beans, and 1/2 cup of salsa. I had shredded mozzerella, so I put it on top with some sliced avocado, and tortilla chips on the side. It was perfect! My husband loved it, and so did I!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States