Mexican Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Yum! Such simple ingredients yet very flavorful. I'm happy to find a low-fat, savory soup. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kparker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
AWESOME recipe!!! The only things I changed were replacing the tablespoon of cumin with a tablespoon of adobo, using black beans instead of kidney, and using 2 fresh jalapenos instead of canned chiles. Even my spouse who doesn't really like Tex Mex LOVED this recipe, it was soooo flavorful!!! You are a domestic goddess Bette :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
A little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Ainslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
This was the first time I have made soup and it turned out great! My husband said "super duper" and he is very picky and very honest. I did cook the chicken with taco seasoning which I think gave it more flavor. I topped the soup with diced avacados, sour cream and shredded mexican cheese! The avacados were really good in it! The leftovers were excellent as well! I will definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTIN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
This was a good start to a really great soup. I added my usual garlic and onion powders, chili powder, black beans, pepperoncini for some spice and instead of the stewed tomatoes, I used a large jar of salsa. My leftover pork tenderloin from Sunday's dinner worked well with this. Family came back for seconds and I'm happy to say there's just enough left for lunch today. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
"Very healthy"? Sorry -- no way. Not with almost 2000g of salt in one serving (enough for one day). Try using fewer canned ingredients and more fresh ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
Very good and healthy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
Very good and easy to make too! Like others I used diced tomatoes and bought a whole cooked chicken from the deli and added chicken from that. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
Wow, what a great dish! The only changes made were to increase the chicken stock to 3 cups (it cooks down very fast on a gas stove) and I can't get green chiles here, so I omited that. Was still spicy and flavorful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
Awesome quick and easy soup. Modifications I made were the following: Used black beans instead of kidney beans (wife does not care for kidney beans) Added a can of diced tomatoes and chilis Seasoned with garlic, white pepper, and black pepper. Topped with Mexican shredded cheese and fried tortilla strips. SIMPLY AWESOME!!! Leftovers I used basic tortilla chips with the shreeded cheese and it was just as good (if not better after letting the flavors meld overnight).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States