Mexican Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This was sooo good! I doubled the recipe and added some rotel tomatoes with green chiles, a can of green chiles, a can of black beans (instead of two cans of kidney beans), a clove of garlic, and a jalapeño. Delicious! I paired it with some tacos and homemade churros for dessert. It was a wonderfully colorful meal. I would recommend it to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This is the best soup base ever. By simply changing the spices, the soup can go from Mexican to Italian to Thai. I have made it and added sausage for a Louisiana flair too. Make the base and store in freezer for quick dinners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This was a nice surprise! I was craving loaded baked potato soup, but stumbled randomly upon this recipe and decided in might be more in line with my new year's resolutions :) My only criticism is that it didn't have enough spice for my taste. To remedy this, I added a generous sprinkling of cayenne pepper and a little salt at the end. That did the trick. Easy to make and nice presentation too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This was really nothing special. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GayleR.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I added 1 can of black beans and 2 tbspn thai chili sauce yummy very good soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by timd2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westwego, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
This soup is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I'm new to cooking and this was the first soup I've ever made by myself, so I just followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great! I had a couple of sceptics in the room but they all shut up when they had a mouth full of this awsome soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Thank you! My husband came home from work with a cold, and I needed a soup, quickly! I followed your recipe, except that I didn't have peppers or chiles on hand. I used canned chicken, kidney and garbanzo beans, and 1/2 cup of salsa. I had shredded mozzerella, so I put it on top with some sliced avocado, and tortilla chips on the side. It was perfect! My husband loved it, and so did I!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Made some changes but the recipe really helped me make a delicious chicken tortilla soup. I have been searching for such a recipe! Used 18 oz of southwest style grilled chicken strips, shredded. Used black beans instead of kidney, added a can of Rotel (use variety you like best) along with the stewed tomatoes, added 1/4 of fresh jalapeno, seeded and diced instead of canned green chile, added 15 oz can of corn instead of 1 cup, added 8 oz of Velveeta pepperjack cheese, used 3 cans of reduced sodium chicken broth, also added a bunch of fresh chopped cilantro while cooking. It was SO good. After it was ready, added a dollop of non-fat greek yogurt, more fresh cilantro, a spoonful of pico de gallo, about 1/3 avocado, cut into thin strips or diced, and tortilla strips, broken into large pieces-add as much as you like while eating soup. My husband and I loved this soup and wished we had doubled it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This was very good! I added chic peas to mine and omited the green chile peppers (only because my toddler would be eating it). When it was cooking I was wondering how good it was really going to be. I served it with old cheddar cheese on top and it was fantastic! Also enjoyed dipping nacho chips into it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States