Mexican Shrimp Cocktail Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I loved this recipe!! It was just as I remembered when I had it the first time. It is nice to be able to make it just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Just as a mention, this is traditionally a soup in & out of Mexico (& Spain), which is why many have commented it is very "soupy" in texture. I really like this recipe, in fact have been using another (A/R site) almost exactly the same (except no avocados). In a pinch, I've used "Mrs. T's Bloody Mary Mix" which I drink by the gallon, so it's always in my pantry. I serve it in Margarita glasses, with a soup tureen on table for those who want more! Since I don't care for salad shrimp (too fishy, even when rinsed), I use larger uncooked shrimp, then peel, devein, remove tail & steam lightly. (Why ANYONE leaves the tails on in any dish is my personal bug, cause I hate to have to have to put my fingers in my dinner !!!). I then slice into one or two pieces. But, that's just me, because this dish is one I use only when I entertain, since shrimp are high in cholesterol, & somewhat beyond my regular budget. BTW, the very tail is the tastiest part of the shrimp. My DH (late) taught me to pinch JUST below the tail and pull. It takes a little (muy poco) practice, but I never fail any more, so it will work for you too, I hope. HTH!!! Blessings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJ Kinville

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Great recepie! I skipped the horse radish but added Tapatio and finely chopped cucumber it was fresh, tasty and crunchy good! Buen provecho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norma E Huerta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
We love this!! Just be sure you don't add the avocado until you're ready to eat. So good with tortilla chips!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Garden City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by joe7e7
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joe7e7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Excellent!! Was having our Priest to bless my wedding band and we loved it. Will definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Absolutely Delish! Best ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marvel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Made it step by step and didn't come out like I thought it would have. I shouldn't have added the horseradish. It gave it a weird flavor. Had to add a lot more clam juice to cover the taste of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Mitchell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I love shrimp cocktail but I do mine a little different sometimes. I blend jalapeños with fresh lime juice, cilantro, fresh garlic, and half a cucumber, with some Clamato juice in a blender. It gives it the spicy kick I like. I chop some cucumbers, red onion, avocado, and celery add it to the shrimp then add the blend I made add some salt and a little pepper for taste. I serve and garnish with some sliced avocado with some peppermint leaves on top of it in a bowl. Every one loves it and always asking me to make it for them =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shrimp Cocktail

Take the classic shrimp cocktail to new levels of appetizer excellence.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States