Mexican Shrimp Cocktail Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I adjusted this recipe to use 6 pounds of shrimp for a crowd. I bought cooked, peeled small salad shrimp and they were just the right size. Since I was feeding a crowd of Mexican's for my husband's birthday I really wanted this to turn out perfect. Everyone loved it, I got great reviews. The horseradish was my "secret ingredient", but I didn't use as much as the recipe called for. I served this coktel de camaron in pretty see through glasses with tostadas and saltines. Also, don't add the avocado until serving time, slice it up and lay it on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
297 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
Wonderful! I substituted ketchup and tomato clam juice for SPICY V8 juice and straight clam juice. I also added a TON of finely chopped fresh celery and double the avacato (adding it right at serving time)so we could use crackers for dipping. This was such a huge hit that my wife took the leftovers to her staff meeting the next day and now I have to send it weekly to her staff meeting. Thank you for the fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
277 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonsai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I think Ms. Zeigler nailed this recipe. I've had this dish in Mexico and all over Texas and this recipe is right on with one exception, it needs a finely minced jalapeno (to taste). I also add mroe avocado, but that's not the way you usually get it in the restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
225 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robertb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Natchitoches, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Gilmer, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
This was really good...although I did make a few additions. I added cucumber and a whole lot more clamato juice. I also added a splash of tequila for flavor. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
The flavor was good but like others, I felt it was too soupy. I used Bill's Seasoned Ketchup (from this site) & decreased the hot sauce accordingly. I have had this before at a restaurant & think I'll play around w/ it some & see if I can't get it closer to what I was expecting. Next time,I think I'll add just a bit of tequila ( I know that was in the one I had @ the rsetaurant) & maybe decrease the clamato (the clam juice in it adds lots of flavor so I won't omit it entirely) & add a bit of tomato paste to thicken things up some. Might be nice w/ some diced tomatoes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
I usually don't rate recipes, I just save my favorites. This recipe is so awesome thoguh, I loved it. Couldn't tell enough people about it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Hood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
Eat this for breakfast on Sunday mornings, it is the BEST cure for a hangover!! I omit the avocado because I don't care for it and also the horseradish because it is not part of Mexican cuisine; although I imagine it is quite good for those who like horseradish. Serve it with a spoon in those tall parfait glasses for ice cream because it is meant to be eaten like a soup and not a dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Excellent Party appetizer. I wouldn't change a thing. I served this to my husband and some guests who were completely skeptical. They all came back begging for seconds. Looks great served in large Margarita glasses with fresh shrimp (not the marinated ones) hanging off the rim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dgoodcookr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
This was absolutely awesome! I love shrimp and mexican, and had this cold shrimp avacado soup at an "authentic" mexican resteraunt a while back and have wanted to try to make something similar. This was very close if not better. I used large 16 shrimp per pound black tiger shrimp and it was well worth the $! Serve chilled over tortilla chips, saltines or alone. Thank you for my new favorite recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicole26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
Really good. My husband and I have enjoyed this recipe several times already this summer since it makes such a tasty, chilled treat. I used spicy V8 juice, too, and added a diced tomato and cucumber. Thanks for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shrimp Cocktail

Take the classic shrimp cocktail to new levels of appetizer excellence.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States