Mexican Shrimp Cocktail Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
It was delicious just how my mom makes it. I did add 1 tbs of tomatoe paste, and more ketchup (1/3 cup), I omitted the horseradish since i don't remember my mom adding that. I boiled my shrimp with lemon zest, 3 bay leafs, salt and jalapenos. I also left the shrimp cocktail in the fridge overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookfresh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This was great, I made it for my tailgate. You might want to spice it up with a little jalapeno and maybe a cucumber for something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Very good recipe. I added cucumber and diced tomato, but left out the horseradish, as it is not widely used in authentic mexican cooking. Try this recipe both ways and see for yourself. Great job Ms. Zeigler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I have made this a number of times as written and it is very good. This last time I made it I substituted cocktail sauce for the ketchup and skipped the hot pepper sauce. It was even better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
We had mexican food for my son's birthday (his most favorite!) and I decided to make this for a crowd. I made about 1 3/4-2 lbs. of shrimp and I had a good amount left over. I added a bit more lime juice and used all V8 b/c my food store did not have clamato and I was pressed for time. I thought that the cilantro really made it tasty. I also liked the "kick" of the horseradish. A great little twist on an old time classic. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This was awesome. I added 1 more teaspoon of garlic, and a lot more horseradish for more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merri Embry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
As written, this recipe is good. I personally have a problem usually with canned juices and all the unnatural ingredients that go into them. Also preparing horseradish can produce such different degrees of "heat" that I can't see how this can be the same each time without specifying which prepared horseradish. I made it exactly as written twice - the second time to be certain I hadn't mucked up the first time. I then made it a few more times trying different combinations and not using canned or prepared stuff like ketchup. It was a bit better to MY taste with natural products but I never managed to get a "Wow" taste. Maybe when I have a few more hours to experiment, I will try this again, but so far my 3 hours of trials have not substantially improved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canterbury, Kent, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
i love this recipe traditional cocktail sauce is too thick and very sweet, tastes like canned tomato sauce. But this is magnificent. I used spicy v8 juice and added fresh jalapenos and added cucumbers..perfect for summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I have made this many, many times and it is delicious. And it makes a generous amount so I usually half it. The recipe is great as-is, but sometimes I add in diced tomatoes, black beans or corn. Very refreshing in the summertime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarDuJour

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I also used spicy V8 instead of tomato and clam juice. But mmm mmmm mmmm.....so easy and yet so good! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Shrimp Cocktail

Take the classic shrimp cocktail to new levels of appetizer excellence.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States