Mexican Shrimp Cocktail Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Very very good...will kick up the heat a little...won't go into my other tweaks...it's your recipe and the shrimp lovers at dinner enjoyed it...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by xmyheart
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Magnificent! The flavors and taste of this exquisite Mexican dish will take your breath away! I grew up eating Mexican food all my life and my mother would make this a few times a year. It was a delicacy. This here recipe is almost an exact replica of my mom's with a few minor adjustments. I left out the horseradish and hot sauce, it is flavorful enough without these additions. Also, since we are a small family, I only used 1 lb. of shrimp and 1 cup of Clamato juice. Kept everything else the same although I was very genourous with the cilantro because we love that stuff! Refridgerated for about 4 hours and frosted some pretty glasses in the freezer for a few hours. Served it up with saltines and sliced limes. It was gone in no time at all! Divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xmyheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Good. I would have preferred it spicier. It may have been the horseradish I used, but the sauce turned out a weird pink color that didn't look very appetizing. Didn't add the avocado until ready to serve. Also, I used medium shrimp. If I make again, I'll use the larger shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I only had 1 hour to let this recipe sit, yet the partygoers were volunteering rave reviews and requesting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by outjet
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Can't go wrong--Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GNFSHN4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Polo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Perfect!!! Just like Mexico. I have had the same with shrimp, crab, and octopus. Typical Mexican is to serve with tortilla chips and limes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
LOVED this - cut the recipe in half and it served three for dinner. Added a little more clamato juice and the entire avocado. Big hit - this will become a regular at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Good Recipe. There are many varations of Mexican Shrimp Cocktail. As for not being Mexican there is no standard when it comes to this recipe. In fact, I don't know how south of the border one reviewer has been, but I had this same recipe in Acapolco and no one complained. I guess you better add a chili pepper to it and have a shot of Silver Patron!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Casa Grande, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sutcliffe, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
this is good, must try, I used extra hot horseradish and added a little more ketchup, but it is awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shrimp Cocktail

Take the classic shrimp cocktail to new levels of appetizer excellence.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States