Mexican Shrimp Cocktail Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I am originally from Texas and couldn't find anyone that could make this authentic recipe in the Hampton Roads area. I am so glad this turned out just like they make it in my favorite restaurant in Central Texas. Its so light and delicious... I highly recommend this recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherrisaf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
This is a great recipe for potlucks and gatherings. I do add more avocado and I also add two stalks of celery chopped, a half of a peeled, seeded & diced cucumber, and some chopped tomato. One time I used one seeded and chopped jalapeno. It was really good, but a little spicy. I generally use sriracha (Rooster Sauce) and NO horseradish to spice it up. Too many people don't care for horseradish so I decided that I'd omit it for potlucks. I serve it with chips like a salsa. Crowd pleaser for sure and it can easily be tinkered with depending on what you like. I like it with about 4 avocados myself. Shrimp and avocado are so great together and the other veggies add volume and crunch but don't change the flavor. This makes quite a decent size bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Surprisingly delicious. I really didn't know what to expect with this one but it turned out great. I forgot to add the avocado at the end- oh well... it was wonderful.. Definitely great on a cracker! Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
love this recipe so much, i added cucumbers so when you got a cucumber you tasted all the flavores :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Very authentic recipe although the best I have eaten included some finely chopped celery that made for a mild bloody Mary twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Swierc Poth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Try adding just a little bit of orange soda. This is what I was told by a waitress at a Mexican restaurant was in this dish. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
What a refreshing summer light meal. I doubled the recipe except for the shrimp. I cooked my shrimp in a stock pot and used the broth from that instead of clam juice, along with regular V-8...no Clam juice cocktail at my grocery store. Since this was going to be our dinner for the night I wanted it to be a bit more like a Gazpacho, so I added a seeded minced cucumber, tomato and jalapeño. I especially liked the cucumber flavor added. I let it marinate in the refrigerator for about five hours and then added the avocado when I served it. We had saltine crackers along with it. This was so great tasting, I loved the horseradish flavor. Thanks Sarah for the recipe and this one is a keeper in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
very good but if you are making for a large crowd skip the cilantro. some people (OK, ME) can't stand the stuff... if you want a laugh, google: "I hate cilantro"..... it really does taste like soap! think 10% of the population.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This is an excellent recipe! I also add some chopped cucumber. If everything is chopped well enough it also makes an excellent summertime chilled soup. Mahalo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shrimp Cocktail

Take the classic shrimp cocktail to new levels of appetizer excellence.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Chef John's Grilled Garlic and Herb Shrimp

Delicious, fresh garden herb marinated and grilled shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States