Mexican Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kmy.74
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I made whole made cornbread for my top. I also added kidney beans. It was absolutely amazing. Topped with shredded cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Great! Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I think I oversalted, forgetting that there's salt in the taco seasoning. But it still came out really good. Next time, I think I'll make it in a 9x9 or 8x8 pan instead of a 9x13 so that the layers are thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
This is a very good recipe. But i did use my own spices instead of the taco seasoning. Also added the corn to the meat (mexicorn) & pico de gallo as the garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Giving it 4 stars since I'm sure this is my fault. I really, really wanted to love this, but had some troubles - the corn bread didn't cook and took forever (I kept having to take it out and sticking a tooth pick in it for an extra 15 minutes - I used Jiffy). The layer closest to the corn mixture was what didn't cook. Doubled the corn bread as others mentioned but probably would stick to dropping it in spoonfuls and not being so anal about covering every open corner with only 1 box next time. Also added most of a can of black beans to stretch the recipe further and used a half beef half turkey mix. The flavor is good but the cornbread just overwhelmed everything, and I love my cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
YUM. I followed the advice of other reviewers and made two batches of corn muffin mix (I use a recipe from this site instead of the box). I omitted the olives because I don't like them. I loved how easy this recipe is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
The only thing I did different was adjust the seasonings to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerumica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Fantastic! I doubled the meat and taco seasoning. Cooked till most water was gone. Mixed corn and olives in with meat. I used two smaller pans and divided mix between them. Then I wrapped and froze one for later. The other I added all the cheese to top before adding Muffin mix to top. When I use the frozen one I will top it with same amount of cheese and 1 package muffin mix. Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Wow lots of good reviews. A couple of things I do to make it yummy for us. I use the recipe for "Taco Seasoning I" by Bill Echols that is on this site as the taco seasoning. Also as I'm on a wheat free diet, once everything (except the muffin mix)is in the casserole I carefully sprinkle a cup of plain old cornmeal on top then use a spoon to softly direct a cup of water over that. It puffs up and make a nice crust. Add grated cheese the last 10 minutes or so. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Have made this for years, but we've always called it Tamale pie...taste the same and the only thing different was, we added diced green chilies and cumin, and either fresh of frozen corn. Serve it with extra cheese on top and it's a big hit at home, potlucks or guests. We double the recipe of course for 9. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States