Mexican Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
As written, this isn't a very flavorful salad. My fiance didn't like it one bit and I thought it was just okay. I wish I hadn't put in the honey, as I ended up using a ton more lime juice for more acidity. After adding cumin, garlic powder, and lots more cilantro it was much better. The only thing I changed was to use yellow bell pepper instead of red, due to what I had on hand. Thanks, but there are better recipes on this site for similar salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
yummy and refreshing, even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Greer, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I've made this a couple of times and my hubby can't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greeley, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
This was very good. I went lighter on the onion--I used half a shallot and one green onion. Plus, I used fresh, raw corn and about 1/4 cup cilantro. This had a nice, mellow flavor, and I didn't find it too spicy at all. Next time, I'll add garlic and maybe a bit of cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
This was good, rated a 4 rather than a 5 because it's the first corn salad I've made and want to try other recipes out there. Not as good as some I've had at restruants, but that's to be expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
DELICIOUS! What a great salad. DH who isn't a fan of beans even enjoyed this. Didn't have a red pepper, so used 1/2 yellow and 1/2 green. Omitted the jalapenos and honey. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
Another recipe my picky husband liked! I used canned corn because that's what I had and it had a funky smell (as canned corn does), but it didn't taste that way. Overall, a nice change in side dishes for Mexican foods from my usual chips and salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiemaytoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
Very easy and healthy. It's one of those last minute tasty meals that your family will love. I even added some cheese and salsa for an additional kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
I made this for a Cinco de Mayo party to serve as one of the salads, and haven't stopped making it since. I had a neighbor invite us to a last minute pool party and asked if I could bring a munchie. With a half a bowl of leftover Mexican Salad and some tortilla chips this was a huge hit at the party!! I cannot strongly urge enough however to make this ahead of time, as the longer it sits the better it tastes. I also have been making this with the new Enova Oil and Agave Nector ( for diabetics), I have used canned corn instead and it is still an awesome flavored side dish or dip. You can't mess this recipe up, just alter it to your tastes. This is now a summertime staple at our home!(nah- probably all year round) Keep up the great recipes Pam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Bricks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
This was so fast and easy to make and tasted refreshing on a hot day! I am amazed at how well it carries you through to the next meal. I will make it many times this summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States