Mexican Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2004
Very tasty! My most picky friends even ate the leftovers the next day in their soft tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2004
Great recipe! Followed the recipe exactly and couldn't be happier. Cannot wait to make this again. Really like the hint of heat that the jalapenos provided. Quick and easy. I also used canned corn instead of frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
Delicious and beautiful to look at! I used more Romas (five) and much more cilantro (my fav!). I also reduced the amount of olive oil in the dressing but increased the amount of lime juice. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
This salad was so delicious, light,refreshing and pretty, it was a nice contrast to all the other hot and spicy mexican dishes I served at a party. My guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocky Point, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
One helluva recipe! Props to the chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
Mmm, mmm good! I had to make substitutions since I made this at the spur of the moment and had to use what was handy! I subbed a can of pintos for garbanzo beans, a can of diced tomatoes with chiles instead of fresh, and basil for the cilantro. Less oil and more lime juice, just as a personal preference. I have a girlfriend who makes something similar, only with Italian dressing and this beats hers...no contest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stuart, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bassett, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
Agree with other reviewers - great salad! I used less jalepeno's and more cilantro. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This salad is sooooo good. Its hard to believe it is sooooo healthy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
I certainly support the other reviewers who gave this 5 stars. I scaled it up to 42 servigs and served it in large mex buffet and they loved it. The only thing I would recommend is that if you go with a large quantity be careful with the dressing - it's a little tangy and you might want to add half and see how you like it before you put the rest on. We did that and kept checking it and then ended up adding in increments until we had put it all on anyway. Turned out great and the tang of the dressing is needed to spruce up the beans. I'd say exact proportions of the various beans are optional and you can add as much of any bean you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
Very good combination of ingredients. I suggest doubling the amount of cilantro and tomato, cutting out a little of the olive oil and adding an additional TB of lime juice. I also use fresh corn, a chopped avocado, and a minced clove of garlic. If you feel that it is bland, you may need to add a little more salt to bring out the flavors, but if you're using good quality ingredients to begin with, you should get good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suavehouse113

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States