Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 18, 2005
This was good. A little too tomato flavory for me, but my guests enjoyed it when I made it for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs_Mike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2005
Great recipe! I did leave out the saffron because I couldn't find it at the store. Took this dish to a party and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
This rice was pretty tasty. I would recommend cutting down on the salt (2 teaspoons is a lot.) I also didnt have saffron on hand, but would try to use it the next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
This is very good but couldn't find powered or ground saffron in my store. I also used DMonte Stewed Tomatoes (Mexican)with less tomatoe sauce. Next time, I'm going to add less water and hope the rice is fluffier rather than moist as I prefer rice fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Double Oak, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
Wonderful side dish! I added 2 cans of tomato sauce and only 2 1/2 cups of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
I CHANGED THIS A BIT BECAUSE OF WHAT I HAD ON HAND..I USED ROTEL INSTEAD OF TOMATOE SAUCE AND CHICKEN BROTH INSTEAD OF WATER. I ALSO ADDED SOME FAT FREE SHREDDED CHEDDAR CHEESE. IT WAS A LITTLE SPICY BECAUSE OF THE ROTEL BUT I LIKE SPICY FOOD SO I LIKED IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
I made it with a jar of hot salsa instead of the tomato sauce - it turned out great - but a bit hot! Next time (and there will be a next time) I'll definitely use the salsa again but I'll miss out the chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorne, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
My 10-yr old son told me to rate this a 10-star recipe! It has the perfect bite, is flavorful, and is a great "base" for adding vegetables and beans so he can have a healthy meal (he is a vegetarian). He had 3 servings tonight and can't wait to have it again tomorrow with the extras added in. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beverly Hills, Michigan, USA
Living In: Urbana, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
the rice came out a lil mushy but it still tasted great...i even ate the leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2004
We like a little more spice, but this was good. I also used chicken broth instead of water and added some green chili peppers. I will make this again and add more of the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States