Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
rice was overcooked, but the flavor was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by philly6288
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Made this rice for my very picky mother who enjoyed it. I found that the amount of salt added was a bit too much. I think i'll reduce it to 1 teaspoon next time and I think if you add some ground beef to this it would make it even better. I also did not get to use the saffron in here but I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by philly6288

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I made this yesterday and it was great! I'd been looking for a flavorful rice recipe and this certainly fell into that category. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This dish was fast, easy, and pretty good. I agree with other reviewers that the cook time is a bit too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda B.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I don't use saffron because it's so expensive, so I left it out of this recipe the first time I made it, and it was really bland. So, to make up for the flavor that I am sure the lack of saffron gave it, the next time I used 1 8oz can of tomato sauce and 1 14 1/2 oz can of diced tomatoes, plus I had to add a little more water to keep it from being dried out and scorched even at reduced heat. This vastly improved the flavor for me. But very easy recipe to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
Yum! I only used 1 can of the tomato sauce and that was definitely enough. I didn't have to saffron, so I used 1/4 tsp. turmeric instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I had a real hard time finding saffron and when I did find it, it was $19 for about 1 tbsp of threads of it. So needless t say I omitted the saffron. I used brown rice, my preference. It wasn't the best spanish style rice I've had. I have had better recipes, so I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKY R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I don't think I'd eat this on its own, and it is not quite worth the effort over a plain bowl of rice paired with something else, especially chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissad738

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I didn't have the saffron so I just ommited that. I love onions and green peppers in my mexican rice. This is very good, it was a little tomatoey to me but still good. I used a cup of instant white rice that was already made which made this very quick to make. I just added the tomoto sauce, chopped onion and green pepper and the spices to the already cooked rice and cooked for about 10 - 15 minutes while my enchiladas were baking. Great stuff! EDIT **** made as original recipe states without instant rice and soo soo good. I still didn't have the saffron though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States