Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I made this last night and it was very good! I omitted the green pepper and onion as the freaks in my house (aka, my husband and son) won't touch them. I was a bit concerned about how much water to add as a result of less substance in the pan - I added a cup and a half and it worked out perfectly. I ended up needing a few extra minutes to cook - total of 45, I believe. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I owned Mexican restaurant 4 1/2 years, live in San Miguel deAllende 12 years, (I love cumin and chile powder, but not in MEXICAN Rice, I've never experienced thoughs ingrediants in Mexican Rice, must be a Tex or Arizon thing?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Way too much salt. It was good otherwise, but tasted a bit of flavor overload which is uncommon for me to find. I didn't use green peppers as I was out, otherwise followed reciepe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I made this in my rice cooker and it came out very tasty. Quick and easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Thanks for a great recipe. I had to add a little water to thin it right before serving, but otherwise great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARCIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I loved this rice! I've tried many boxed rice, and finally gave up (I'm a lazy cook). This recipe look simple enough so I gave it a try. So glad I did! I only omitted the green pepper for personal preference. Since we have taco night once a week in my home we will be eating this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boothwyn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This is great! Thanks. I used olive oil and a mixture of colored peppers that I had on hand, and it was very colorful. Cooked it in my pressure cooker. That way, it was super fast too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This rice is better than anything that I have had in a mexican restaurant. It is easy to make and done in less than 1 hour. Why go out when you can do better at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I liked the rice that I made. But, I did alter the receipe. I did not have the Mexican saffron, so I did not use saffron. I used short grain brown rice. I only had one 8 oz can of tomato sauce, so I added two large chopped Roma tomatoes. I also added 1/2 jalepano pepper finely chopped. I also cut the salt in half and used 1 teaspoon of Kosher salt. I also used a red bell pepper instead of a green bell pepper. Brown rice takes longer to cook than white rice, so it simmered for about 35 minutes. My family really liked the rice. I will make it again with the alterations that I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Delicious and simple! Didn't have saffron to add and was still fabulous. Big hit with kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYALL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States