Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
yummy with cheese on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
No Flavor. I added a can of fire-roasted tomatoes, more chili powder and cumin at the end to try and save it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
My family really loves this dish. I use Turmeric in place of the saffron. Otherwise, I follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Deland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I just made the recipe today and served it with enchiladas. It was a hit and my entire family enjoyed it. I deviated slightly from the recipe by adding some sofrito. I would make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This is a delicious recipe that is easily made because the ingredients are always in my home, except for the saffron which I omitted. I made some swaps because I had leftover ingredients that I needed to use. I substituted olive oil in place of vegetable oil, used the entirety of the cans of tomato sauce, and chicken broth instead of water. I cut the salt as a result of these swaps. Also, I only needed about 30 minutes to fully cook the rice to my family's taste. I'll be sure to make the recipe exactly when I can get some saffron; as of now, by using the recipe as a guide, my rice came out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenzie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chatham, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Not sure what went wrong, but this was very starchy and not at all what I expected. Because the flavor was OK I'm giving it 3 stars. However, I am still searching for a Mexican Rice recipe that my family likes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I love this recipe and have been using it for years. I add an extra teaspoon of chili powder and leave out the saffron and it's great. The leftovers are even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
I had to omit some of the ingredients, particularly the spices due to being unable to locate them in the foreign country I am presently in, however I substituted some local chili peppers. It was ok, the reason I gave it 4 stars rather than 3 was because everyone else seemed to enjoy it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I used homemade sofrito in place of the onion, green pepper & garlic. I used sazon in place of the saffron threads & Abobo in place of the salt. I left out the tomato sauce, cumin and chili powder. I then ended up with our family thought was a five star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Easy to follow. I used a brown rice/wild rice mixture. So it needed to cook longer. Great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States