Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
I used yellow food coloring and went without the saffron. When I realized the taste was suffering, though, I added 2 cubes of chicken boullon and a can of chicken broth. THIS saved the day; the rice turned out excellent and I'd definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2003
This was great! I made it with enchiladas, and it almost seemed like we were eating at a Mexican restaurant. I didn't use the saffron, as it was too expensive for me at the time. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2003
Ginger, this rice is fabulous! My boyfriend and I both love it ... I've made it twice already. I love the flavor of cumin, and the saffron really DOES make a difference. My only problem is that it tends to really stick and burn on the bottom of my pan. I'm using a Revereware stainless steel saucepan (I sure miss my Le Creuset). I thought I had enough liquid and the heat was low. Any ideas on how to prevent this from happening (and wasting any delicious rice stuck to the pan)?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
This recipe is easy, and fun to play with and adjust. I use it now with Vigo, instead of saffron (easier on the pocketbook, and with all the strong flavors in the vegs and spices, I can't tell a difference.) I also use Rotel tomatoes, and whatever veggies I have in the fridge that need to be used up. Thanks for this basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
This was very good though I din't use the saffron it was a little too expensive on this grocery trip though I will purchace it in the future.I scaled it down to 4 servings and added a can of green chiles and a dash or two of hot sauce,and also added a little more cummin and chile powder and it turned out wonderful!We like things on the spicy side so I usually adjust to that.Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
Amazing tender rice with a perfect flavour, not overly strong, not too weak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
Excellent Mexican rice! This is a fabulous receipe. I will make it with each latin dinner I make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CANDY88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2003
I made this without the green pepper, and enchilada sauce. Wow! great flavor,makes allot, so be hungry!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
Great rice!! I served this with Enchiladas II recipe found on this site(which I've made many times and my family loves). Delicious...I found regular saffron instead of the powdered and used several strands of that. I think next time I will cut the recipe in half since this made a lot of rice for a family of 3. Otherwise this recipe stays in my collection. Tastes like the rice you get in a Mexican restaurant. Thanks Ginger!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
Great! Variations: I omitted the saffron. I used small can of diced green chilies instead of green peppers. Used only 1 can of tomato sauce. Turned out great. I served this with Tacos and mexican corn cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hebron, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States