Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
This was nothing like the Mexican rice we get at our local Mexican restaurants in NC. It just tasted like tomato rice. I was not happy with this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
Good recipe that will definately serve 8. Fairly easy to prepare and MUCH better than anything out of a box. I really like saffron and appreciate the flavor in the rice. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2004
This recipe was outstanding! I used Basmati rice as that was the rice that was available to me here in the Netherlands. I have never had a mexican rice recipe come out this good! It was moist and very flavorful. I would not change a thing. It is definitely a keeper and my guests and family loved it! Thank you Ginger for a terrific recipe! Nice to get a touch of tex-mex from an uprooted Texan in Holland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2004
Excellent recipe. Because I had an extra can of tomatoes w/chilies, I added that in place of 1/2 of the tomato sauce requirement. Also, did not add saffron. Quite good with the King Ranch Casserole III and some chopped lettuce and tomatoes on the side, and garnishes of guacomole, salse, and sour cream. Thanks, Ginger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
The results-to-effort ratio is off the scale: restaurant-quality Mexican rice that's as easy to make as a Lipton sidedish. Bravo, Ginger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
This rice was fairly tasty, but not quite as flavorful as I expected. I added chicken bouillon to the water as others have suggested, along with garlic salt, green chilis, and diced tomatoes. A good basic recipe, but needs some additional seasonings, I think. I have tried several rice recipes from this site, but I still think the best and most flavorful is Mexican Rice II.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
I make this rice frequently, following the recipe exactly except that I add a VERY SMALL amount (less than 1/8 tsp) of Dave's Insanity Sauce to give it a little more kick. If you like a litle (or a lot) of heat, I recommend this rice with the addition of some Dave's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
This was nice. I didn't add the saffron as I didn't have it in my pantry and perhaps this might make this dish more of a stand out. I will have to make it again to see. I did serve this with a dollop of sour cream and chopped shallots on the side. This was made this rice better in my view.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
I used yellow food coloring and went without the saffron. When I realized the taste was suffering, though, I added 2 cubes of chicken boullon and a can of chicken broth. THIS saved the day; the rice turned out excellent and I'd definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States