Mexican Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
Delicious and great!! I needed to cook the rice longer and needed more chicken broth. I also added more spices (cayenne) since I like spicy foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I used chicken broth rather than vegetable broth, and regular basmati rice, vs instant rice (3/4c rice for a 1:2 ratio of rice to liquid). Simmered with the broth and other listed ingredients until cooked through (maybe 15-20mins?). This was good and is serving as a side dish tonight to our leftover Southwestern Egg Rolls from this website. Thanks for the recipe, Alison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I'm rating this a 5 because it gave me a really good base for a one pot meal that was fresh, fast and good! I added 1 pound of ground beef, beef broth and used fresh peppers and tomatoes from our spilling over the top garden. Jalopenos, chili peppers and a bell pepper and 3 tomatos instead of one. We even ate ours in warm flour tortillas with cheese and salsa! Very good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
It's hard to give five stars to a side dish. Why? Well, because it's a side dish--not the main event. No so with this one. Truly great side dishes seem rare. I will absolutely remember this one as long as I'm able to cook. I served it with Spinich Enchiladas, available at allrecipes, but it is so versatile that it would work with so many dishes. I used a full can of veggie broth and the rice could still have been a little more moist. Don't be afraid to use the jalapeno pepper. Amazingly, with the pepper, chili powder (I used Mexian chili powder) and cumin, this recipe only offers a little zip. It's not spicy HOT, like one might expect. There are so many elements that make this recipe great but the cheese really makes it pop. Don't leave it out. It provides just the right finishing touch. My somewhat picky adult son said this one was amazing! Victory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
No cumin, a can of rotel instead of the tomato and pepper, no cheese, and 2 cups of chicken broth are the only changes i made in this recipe. It turned out really well, and pretty healthy too! Everyone who thought it was gummy probably didn't add enough liquid while the rice is cooking--brown rice is different than white rice, folks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rolla, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
I loved the fact that this used brown rice because I love it. I added a whole can of vege broth and had no problem with undercooked rice. I also added cilantro, because I love it and I wanted a little more color in the dish. Thanks for the tasty side Alison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
Following the recipe as written, this was just edible. I should have known better than to use instant brown rice -- the end result was a bit gummy, yet some rice was still undercooked (perhaps more broth??). The spice/heat level was ok, but I probably won't make this again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
This recipe is outstanding! I've looked for a good mexican rice recipe for a long time. I added cilantro and green onions to mine(using only 1/4 tspn onion powder). I also used 3 cups of beef broth, cut the cheese in half, added salt, and used rotel instead of the large tomato(also eliminating the green pepper). Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
very good, I used regular brown rice and left out the jalapeno. (just too spicy for my crew) I cooked the onion and garlic 1st, then added the spices, chicken broth, rice and a can of diced tomatoes and baked it covered at 350 for about a hour and a half. Served and then sprinkled with cheese. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waddell, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
GOOD, BUT I CHANGED IT A BIT...I ADDED SOME ENCHILDA SAUCE TO THE RICE AND OMITTED THE TOMATOE(HUBBY DOESNT LIKE) AND THE CHEESE(MAKING IT LOWER IN FAT)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States