Mexican Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This sounds wonderfully easy! (Not to mention-delicious.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ramona

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albertville, Alabama, USA
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Great way to use brown rice and change it up. Tasted like what I used to make that came from box but in my heart I know its wwwwaaaay better for ya.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Let me first state that I used this recipe as a GUIDELINE to use up what I had ON HAND. I didn't have a jalapeno but my kids aren't fans, subbed Cheddar for Monterey Jack cheese, used green and red bell pepper, used already made white rice, and used the drippings from Double Decker Tacos/Taco Seasoning I rather than the vegetable oil. With that stated, the recipe turned out to be THE BEST Hispanic rice dish I've ever had or made. I do plan to make this dish as originally written to compare and rewrite my review. *UPDATE* After making as is, I was not too impressed but it is still a good base recipe. I prefer the original way I made this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Delicious. Can't wait to try it with the jalapeno and red pepper (I used green in place of the red)! I didn't add the cheese, but I think it would be good with it. I used chicken broth. Great with sliced green onion on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Used regular (not quick-cook) brown rice (cooked in twice as much veggie broth as rice.) Did not have chili powder so used 1 tsp. cumin, 1 tsp. paprika. Also added mushrooms and a can of beans and used 2 tomatoes. Used shredded gouda cheese. Otherwise made as stated. It is good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Very good! I didnt have chili powder and I used white rice. Didnt even need to add cheese. Everyone liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolina Gondra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Made this to go with Zucchini Tomato Mélange. Super! Now I’m off to write a custom version to combine the two! For the rice, I like to use a brown/wild rice blend that takes 45 minutes to cook, so I had to modify the cooking methods for this recipe. I sautéed the onion, added the garlic and red bell pepper, sprinkled the spices over, sautéed for a few more minutes, and then added the cooked rice. When heated thru, added the tomato. Did not use cheese (forgot) or jalapeno (wimp). Thought about adding a can of (mild) Rotel…might try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Just okay in my book. I was cleaning out the pantry so tossed in some corn and cilantro, and used a can of Rotel tomatoes in place of the tomato and jalapeno. Despite the additions it was still missing something. I cooked it in my rice cooker - just threw in everything except the cheese and let it go. Couldn't be simpler, I'll give it that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I thought this was just ok, nothing special. I made it as a side dish to go with enchiladas. I followed the recipe exactly as its written and I thought that this dish was bland (and I'm not a big fan of spicy foods). I had to add a little bit of taco sauce to give it some flavor. I also think the cheese was a bit too much, I should have left it out, it didn't add much flavor but it did add a lot more calories. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parishville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Just made this, and it was great! I only use brown rice, not white and this was the only recipe for the brown rice that I could find. Only thing was I left out the jalapenos. I will make this every time we have Tex-Mex in my house. Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States