Mexican Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
Make this recipe just for the aromas that will spread through your home. It tastes great too! I made a few adjustments as recommended by others: jasmine rice, 3c chicken broth, 1/4 cup salsa, juice from jalapeno jar and a sharp white cheddar). The cheese gives this dish the creaminess that seems to be missing in other recipes. Top of with some fresh parmesan and you've got yourself a delicious side dish to your entree (we had salmon). Enjoy and Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
A wonderful dish. A great way to get brown rice past finicky eaters. I sauteed the pepper with the onion and garlic so it would be softer. Cheese could be halved to make it a healthier dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
This is a wonderful rice dish, we raelly love it. I make it often. It is also good when you have leftover roast, to chop it up and add it to the recipe for a one dish meal.Thank you so much Alison for sharing you great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
Yummy. Just enough spices. Perfect. My husband likes very spicy and I am more of a mild person, so this recipe was great. THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
I made this recipe for a dinner with the neighbors and they couldn't get enough of it. This is a winner! I will make this agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamden, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
I made this recipe as a side dish to go with fajitas, and it worked really well. I added about 1/3 of a cup of salsa to it and to cut the fat content I did not use the cheese. The rice came out very moist and delicious. I also used white rice instead of brown because it was all I had in the house, and it still came out great. Great recipe, thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
This was good...I made a few modifications -- no diced red pepper or cheese and used 1 cup tomato sauce, 3 cups beef broth, and 1-1/2 cups regular white rice. I'm a REALLY bad rice maker...my husband thought for sure this was a packaged mix because it was good and he knows I can't make rice!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
This is an excellent dish! Recieved RAVE reviews from the pickiest of eaters! I did use 1 whole can of vegetable broth and I think it needed the extra liquid. Also used almost double the cheese and it was excellent! SUPURB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH_ANNEJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
This was okay eating. I used chicken broth (which MAY have altered the receipe too much) but no matter which broth you use, it seems to need just a little more (perhaps an extra 1/4 cup?). Some of my rice was slightly undercooked. Also, with the amount of rice vs the red peppers and tomatoes required, it just seemed too much...and we LOVE red peppers and tomatoes, possibly lessen one ingrediant or omit one altogether? Since I have found better rice side dishes, I probally won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
I chose this rice dish to accompany a Chicken Monterey Recipe. It was truly wonderful and not that difficult to prepare. I omitted the jalapeno pepper and it still tasted very authentic with the mexican spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States