Mexican Rice III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I agree with another poster that this does not have enough tomato flavor. I will keep trying!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
YUM! Thumbs up all around at our house. The rice is very flavorful and a good companion piece to the tacos we had tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Delicious!!! I cooked the rice with the onions and garlic and did not add bouillion b/c w/ salt you can always add it but it's not so easy to remove it (I did include a few dashes of garlic salt and pepper). No green pepper due to personal preference and one can of garlic and onion tomatoes drained in place of tomato. This rice was so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Ok, I just successfully made the recipe with brown rice - I'm standing in my kitchen and taste tested it and it's great, not even that different from white. I used 1 cup brown rice instead of white, and toasted it in the sauce pan with olive oil and the onion for closer to 5 or 6 minutes. I just kept an eye on it and let it get as toasted as possible without actually burning. Then I added 1 and 2/3 cups chicken stock, brought to a boil, covered it and reduced the heat to as low as possible. I let it cook undisturbed for about 40 minutes before checking it, then let it cook about 10 more minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swazulu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
love this I add more garlic , lasts well in the fridge for those small families
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Very good recipe. I was hesitant but the flavors and cooking all together made a very tasty dish. Make sure you cook that rice first, it really adds another layer of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This was amazing! We did have a problem getting the rice to fluff up as others had mentioned, even after following the tips of other members... We also found that this is pretty spicy (I LOVE spicy food), but my 6 year old, not so much. Still, I definitely recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Fantastic recipe. I'm from Texas and love good TexMex, however the rice at most restaurants is usually bland. This Mexican rice is not bland at all, full of wonderful flavor and a little spicy. The only changes I made to the recipe was substituting jarred jalapeno slices (that I cut up), instead of fresh jalapeno, as I did not have any fresh on hand, and adding a little bit more cumin than called for. My husband loves it, and so do my parents. Thanks for the wonderful recipe ALANASMOM, I've already made this twice and will continue to use this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
This is awesome and easy! :) The whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I just made this rice to pair with the fish tacos we are having for dinner. All I can say is WOW!!! Followed recipe exactly as it is written, and it turned out AWESOME!!! Its so worth it to make homemade Mexican rice as opposed to buying the flavored rice from grocery (which are usually so gross!). Only thing is I may pull rice off at about minute 18 because I like my rice a little al dente (firm to the bite), but that is just a preference thing. Thanks so much for sharing this, I just added it to my "recipe box"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 700) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States