Mexican Rice III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Absolsutely declicious! Perfect. Followed the recipe with the exception of the fresh tomato. I had 3 heirlooms but am holding on to those for another recipe so I opened a can of diced tomatoes, drained and used about 1/2 the can. Worked out great! Hubby and kids said one of the best rice dishes yet. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Very good. I used fat free, low sodium chicken broth in place of the chicken broth & bouillon cube. I also waited to add the cilantro until just before serving. I love that fresh kick that cilantro has, but some of that is lost when it's cooked. So yummy. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I loved this rice. I made the recipe as written and it turned out perfect. I was worried about the heat from the jalapeño but it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This "Mexican Rice III," recipe is very good on its own. I only omitted the jalapeno pepper because my family cannot handle the spiciness or heat. In a skillet I sauteed the long grain rice in oil with chopped white onions and then added the chopped garlic. I seasoned with salt, black pepper and cumin. I added some sweet orange, red, and green bell peppers, stirred, then turned off the heat. Lastly, I chopped up some fresh roma tomatoes, then added it to the skillet. I mixed up everything and added it to the rice cooker. I then added the 1 1/2 cup of chicken stock (no bouillon) and let it cook. Once it was done I let the rice sit for a few minutes to let it steam thoroughly and set. I lifted up the rice cooker lid and threw in some chopped fresh cilantro onto the rice to retain its color, add freshness and taste. The rice was very pretty with all its vibrant colors from the tomatoes, bell peppers and sprinkles of bright green fresh cilantro. The rice was cooked perfectly, fluffy, and inviting. I found this rice very fresh, lightly seasoned and flavorful. I served this with, "Chicken Kabobs Mexicana, " and "Best Black beans,' also from this website. Thank you for sharing your recipe ALANASMOM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I liked this recipe a lot. I will add either one very large tomato next time or two small ones. The tomato really made it and I could use a little more of that flavor, but this was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil and I didn't have fresh tomatoes or jalapenos so substituted canned petite diced tomatoes with green chiles. Also, doubled the garlic. Very tasty. This one's a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Excellent but add 1/2 cup more broth to the rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I just made this recipe and am eating it for lunch in front of the computer. It is good! For those who claim it is not authentic, that is like saying everyone in Mexico cooks identical recipes and that the cooks don't vary according to what they have on hand. Just like you, they make rice to the liking of their families. I spent a lot of time in Mexico and I've eaten rice in tiny villages and in big cities. Trust me, it is not all the same. This is a good recipe, try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
5 stars from me for the flavor! I like to rinse my rice, rinse it some more, then rinse it some more, then fry up the rice, add the chopped onion & garlic just before the rice browns, then saute it all until the rice is golden but not to let the garlic brown. I leave out the bell pepper just cause that's our preference but it's still good with, & usually use hot chicken broth but this is one of those times we actually like the bouillon, too...I love the tasty, fluffy rice you get at (American) Mexican restaurants & this is a close match for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This is a winner! I made no changes and it was a hit. My aunt who doesn't like Mexican Rice loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 689) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States