Mexican Rice III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Fantastic! I browned the onion along with the rice and upped the cumin by 1/4 tsp. Will probably use a can of diced tomatoes (drained) when tomatoes are out of season. Served with spicy fish tacos and black beans for a great Mexican dinner at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Really tasty! I made mine into a full one-pot supper by adding a couple pieces of pre-cooked chicken breast and some black beans when it was done cooking. I didn't have any fresh cilantro or jalapeno peppers, so I improvised with basil and parsley (I know it's not the same...) and a few chopped, pickled jalapeno rings. Still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Perfect every single time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Served this last night for a taco party for 8 adults. The rice was delicious and easy to make. Everyone loved it and I got lots of compliments on this dish. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This was delicious and easy. I omitted the jalapenos so that my toddler would eat it, and it was still great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
This was really good. I left out the jalapeno and tomato and substituted a can of rotel drained into my chicken broth. I then added enough water to make it 2 cups of liquid. Diced up the garlic. Sauteed the veggies in the oil for a few minutes, added rice and sauteed that for a few minutes. Added spices (including 1/4 teaspoon of salt) and garlic and sauteed for a minute then added rest of the ingredients (except cilantro) brought to a boil, covered and simmered for 20 minutes. Stirred in cilantro and a tablespoon of butter, recovered and let it sit for 5 minutes. Perfect rice consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
The only deviation from the recipe was I omitted the green pepper. It was excellent. I paired this with Enchiladas Suizas also found on this site and well worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I left out the bell pepper (we aren't fans of bell peppers) and the jalapeno peppers (5 kids who don't like hot food). My 8 year old daughter loved this which is really saying something since she NEVER eats rice. For a Mexican dish, it tasted better than anything I've had in a restaurant. I just don't really care for Mexican food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raspberry_waffles

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I don't know authentic Mexican rice but what I do know is we really liked the flavors of this rice dish. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Great recipe! I halved it, simmered on low 15 min, let rest 8 min and it was perfect. I would have liked more cumin, just a personal preference. Did not have jalapeno so used cayenne pepper. Added a little butter, some lime juice and chopped scallions before serving with traditional Mexican carnitas. Had to use frozen cilantro cubes, but I'm sure it would be much better with fresh. Moist, rich and delicious rice. Thanks, ALANASMOM for the recipe! Smacznego (delicious in Polish)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 694) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States