Mexican Rice III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Very good recipe. I was hesitant but the flavors and cooking all together made a very tasty dish. Make sure you cook that rice first, it really adds another layer of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This was amazing! We did have a problem getting the rice to fluff up as others had mentioned, even after following the tips of other members... We also found that this is pretty spicy (I LOVE spicy food), but my 6 year old, not so much. Still, I definitely recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Fantastic recipe. I'm from Texas and love good TexMex, however the rice at most restaurants is usually bland. This Mexican rice is not bland at all, full of wonderful flavor and a little spicy. The only changes I made to the recipe was substituting jarred jalapeno slices (that I cut up), instead of fresh jalapeno, as I did not have any fresh on hand, and adding a little bit more cumin than called for. My husband loves it, and so do my parents. Thanks for the wonderful recipe ALANASMOM, I've already made this twice and will continue to use this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
This is awesome and easy! :) The whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I just made this rice to pair with the fish tacos we are having for dinner. All I can say is WOW!!! Followed recipe exactly as it is written, and it turned out AWESOME!!! Its so worth it to make homemade Mexican rice as opposed to buying the flavored rice from grocery (which are usually so gross!). Only thing is I may pull rice off at about minute 18 because I like my rice a little al dente (firm to the bite), but that is just a preference thing. Thanks so much for sharing this, I just added it to my "recipe box"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This is the best Mexican Rice recipe I have used! KEY TO FLUFFY RICE: COOK FOR 20 MINUTES ON LOW HEAT AND LEAVE ON STOP FOR ADDITIONAL 10 MINUTES WITH HEAT OFF! I made several modifications based on the reviews I read -- no green pepper, increased cumin to 3/4 teaspoon, and added canned petite diced tomatoes, jarred jalapeño peppers. Turned out absolutely delicious. I paired it with the beef enchilada recipe. I will certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Great flavor. I didn't have jalapeno or tomato so I just skipped that. Still enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
I made it in a rice cooker; I warmed the rice in the oil (lid open) and as it heated up added the veg so they'd saute in the oil a bit. I stirred the rice around but didn't add the liquid until I was ready to close the lid and run the cycle. It turned out fluffy and with a delicious flavor. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Absolutely love this recipe! My husband requests it at least once a week!!! Very fresh, flavorful, and easy to make. I usually have to add a bit more broth during the cooking process so my rice doesn't become dry before it is finished cooking, but otherwise a perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I’m an “authentic” Tex-Mexican from south Texas and in my opinion this recipe is 100% authentic. I alter my recipe a bit depending on my audience’s taste preferences. For example, I might use 1/4c bell pepper or 2 tomatoes, or ½ c tomato sauce if I don’t have fresh tomatoes, or even ½ tsp garlic salt if I don’t have fresh garlic. Sometimes, I even omit the jalapenos or chicken bouillon. I recommend following the exact recipe and then altering to your taste preferences or dietary needs/restrictions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 695) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States