Mexican Rice III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Easy and delicious! I'm cooking challenged, so the fact that I was able to make this says something. I'm super lazy, so I used a can of rotelle rather than seed a tomato and chop a jalapeno. This was easy, yummy and spicy. I added fresh cilantro at the end and it was wonderful. Next time I'll double the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Wanda Espy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
This rice was amazing! I made it according to the recipe and it was perfect. I little spicy for my taste but was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
This is the best Mexican rice I have ever had. I replace the bell pepper with canned green chilies. This is restaurant quality rice, but I've never had any this good in a restaurant! Salt sparingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
I've tried this recipe several times and I think I've figured out how it works best with the ingredients I usually have on hand. Since we usually use whole cumin (i.e. the seeds), I usually toss those in the hot oil first with the garlic so that the oil has some flavour when the rice goes in. I also found that adding the onions and bell peppers after I've toasted the rice in the oil helps add more flavour. I usually put in black pepper and some paprika instead of jalapenos (not a common pepper in my traditional cuisine). I add the tomatoes in at the very end when I have added in the water to the rice and brought it to a boil. If I find that after 20-25 minutes the water isn't completely gone, I usually turn the heat up a little higher (if there is a little bit left) OR take the lid off and use a chopstick to make little holes in the rice to let the steam escape (a trick learnt from my mother).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
We loved this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I absolutely loved this! My dad used to make a dish very similar to this, but it was stir fried. He is half japanese so we've always eaten a lot of rice and he tends to create random stir fry dishes. For a quick meal he would stir fry the store bought pico de gallo into his cooked rice (there was ALWAYS a pot of rice in his house) we called it pico rice. these ingredients (bel pepper, onion, jalepeno, cilantro, tomato) are essentially pico de gallo. But What makes this so good (and even better than his) is that the seasonings and vegetables are cooked INTO the rice by adding it as the rice is simmering as opposed to adding it AFTER the rice is cooked. This rice is AMAZING. Like many of the other reviewers, I added the cilantro when the rice was done so it would keep its fresh flavor. i thought the tomato might get mushy and turn the rice red (the way i typically see mexican rice) but they didnt. Absolutely lovely side dish to the enchiladas and refried beans i made tonight
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
This rice dish is Fabulous as written! I do add a little Tumeric to the chicken broth to give the dish a nice yellow colouring, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gpchicky1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Both my husband and I loved this! Don't really care if it is authentic or not, the flavours are beautiful and since I made this ahead of time, I kept going back to taste. It really is a wonderful dish and 158 calories per serving is even better. Can't wait to make this again. I did alter slightly in that I used leftover rice so I didn't need to add so much stock. I sautéed the onions and garlic, added the stock then the veg and other spices and let it cook down so it wasn't so watery when I added the rice. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This was great. Didn't add the jalapeños cause I wanted the girls to eat it. Will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chiquita632000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Great, yummy side dish for any mexican meal. I didn't have white rice or bell pepper and it still turned out ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 720) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States