Mexican Rice III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Absolutely love this recipe! My husband requests it at least once a week!!! Very fresh, flavorful, and easy to make. I usually have to add a bit more broth during the cooking process so my rice doesn't become dry before it is finished cooking, but otherwise a perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I’m an “authentic” Tex-Mexican from south Texas and in my opinion this recipe is 100% authentic. I alter my recipe a bit depending on my audience’s taste preferences. For example, I might use 1/4c bell pepper or 2 tomatoes, or ½ c tomato sauce if I don’t have fresh tomatoes, or even ½ tsp garlic salt if I don’t have fresh garlic. Sometimes, I even omit the jalapenos or chicken bouillon. I recommend following the exact recipe and then altering to your taste preferences or dietary needs/restrictions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
This was a big hit for dinner! The key is to not to open the lid on that pot for the entire 20 minutes. My few changes were that I omitted the jalapeno and cilantro, used 2 cups of broth instead of 1 1/2 cups and replaced green pepper with diced carrots. I also sauteed the rice with the onion and garlic before adding the broth. I think I'm going to try adding a can of tomato sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Sycamore, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Made a slight change to this recipe by omitting the cilantro (don't particularly like the flavor)and substituted the jalapeno with chipotle pepper in adobo sauce. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Excellent.....I am going to add some sausages to the left overs...makes a good 2nd meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
love this! It's really easy and came out delicious! Great side dish for cilantro lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
I can't tell if it's authentic or not, but it is similar to rice I've had in Mexico. The best thing about this recipe is that you can goof and it still works. See, I only had the one tomato, which I needed for my pork tacos, and only one can of tomato paste, for tomorrow's chili. So....ketchup! I made sure no one saw me add it, and didn't tell them what my secret ingredient was until they told me how delicious it was. I can't decide whether to hang my head in shame or hold it high, proud of being so innovative. Bottom line, this is very tasty rice! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Excellent! I didn't have fresh tomato or white rice, so I used red bell pepper, 1/2c of tomato sauce, long grain brown rice and an additional 1c of water. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Delicious. Flavor is subtle, not overwhelming. Perfect side dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This is a great recipe with our without changes. I made a few.....I used one whole pablano pepper instead of the bell pepper and jalapeno. I used one can of petite diced tomatoes, drained in place of the fresh tomato. I used two garlic cloves, chopped fine. As with other reviewers, I also sauteed my rice, onion and pepper for a few minutes before adding garlic and remaining ingredients, adding cilantro after rice rested. Will definately fix this for my family again. They loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 717) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States