Mexican Rice II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
I tried this recipe for a mexican dinner I made for a family gathering. It was well recieved. I had no problem getting the rice to brown and puff. i think the ones who did were maybe expecting it to be more brown and puffier than it was. i did add some chopped green bell pepper and fresh garlic. I have added this recipe to my personal cookbook and will definately make it again. It is very quick and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2002
This is a very good and easy mexican rice recipe. We all loved it, even my kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2002
This recipe really makes me look like I am a good cook! Thank You !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
Easy, quick and good! I did use about half the oil called for, however, as the first time I made this I found it a bit greasy for my taste. I had no trouble getting the rice nice and toasty-- it actually doesn't puff much at all, though it does go opaque (turns very white) then gets a bit brownish... I used jasmine rice for this and when toasts up it smells divine! It's also good leftover. Try this, you won't be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lianne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
This is just like rice you would get in a Mexican restaurant. It takes more work than I would normally like, but it really compliments a Mexican meal, and I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
Muy bien! I used 1 Tbsp. of oil & didn't have a problem at all with the rice (well, maybe that comes from living off of rice a roni back in the day). I really liked this recipe due to the fact that it was easy on sensitive tounges, my 18 mo. old LOVED it & ate an adult helping! If I were making it for the adults only, I would add an 8 oz. can of Rold Gold sauce with the jalepenos in it & some fresh chopped cilantro, YUM. Thanks for the great recipe Sylvia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
This was great! I had no problem with the browning and puffing! I added a can of chiles which added some good colour, but not enough spice for my taste... next time, jalapenos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
I really appreciated this rice! I'm vegetarian, so used a couple of teaspoons of McKay's chicken style seasoning to make the broth. I also added 5 tablespoons of chopped green chilis. It did require a little extra water to make it nice and soft, but wow, the rice tasted wonderful! Nice and soft texture. Topped it with reduced fat sour cream and some mild Taco Bell sauce (our favorite!) and it beat any restaurant rice, hands down! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
Very good rice! I stirred in about 1 cup of fresh salsa after cooking. Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
This was a great recipe. I had my 13 year old daughter make this while I was preparing the rest of the dinner and she had no problems with it. We did cut back on the onion, since we're not big onion fans, and we added some diced green pepper. She also let it simmer a few minutes longer than the recipe called for since we like our rice on the dry side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,812) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States