Mexican Rice II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Finally I've found the recipe for basic, restaurant style Mexican rice. The key to this recipe is the seasonings you use. I tried it as written, just with the cumin, and it was not nearly as good as it was when I did it a second time using Taco Seasoning I (from this site). I just sprinkled in what looked like enough, about 1-1/2 tsp. This mixture includes cumin and many other spices which are perfect for this recipe. I also cooked my onion in the oil BEFORE adding the rice to get it nice and soft. Other than that, I followed exactly as written and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1707 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
For the reviewers having trouble with browning and puffing the rice: My rice browned, but didn't puff. When I added the soup stock and tomato sauce, I was concerned (I had company over and this was the first try) but the rice came out beautifully, and puffed out. Don't let the other reviews prevent you from trying this simple and delicious dish. It made a great side dish for the quisadillas I made. This is also a good guy-proof recipe, considering I didn't mess it up. I'm definitely making this one again. I have a rice cooker, but I decided to take a chance and make it in a medium sauce pan, and I was glad. My rice cooker tends to singe the outer layer of rice. Cook hard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
868 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
If you're looking for a Mexican Rice recipe that will be "the star of the show," this is not the recipe. If, however, you're looking for a pleasantly and subtley flavored Mexican-style rice to accompany a spicier main dish, this fits the bill perfectly. I chose to saute the rice in butter rather than oil, but otherwise followed the recipe as directed. Don't worry about "puffing" the rice-just saute it till golden brown, then add the chopped onion and spices, saute another minute or two, then add liquids. Cover and simmer till liquid is almost absorbed and rice is tender. Nice, basic rice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
684 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
This is a great basic rice recipe that is easy to prepare. The only difference between my preparation and the recipe's is that I sauteed the onion before cooking the rice, added fresh minced garlic, and used chicken stock versus broth. Thanks for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
268 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
A strong chicken broth is needed to make this good. KAET: I've never been able to get my rice to brown and/or puff in a skillet either, so I always use my rice cooker instead. I saute the onions, minced garlic and cumin in a skillet, then throw it into the rice cooker along with the 1 c. rice, 1-1/2 c. chicken broth and all the other ingredients, omitting the garlic salt. The cooker shuts off when the rice is done. Easy and very good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
240 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
This has become our families favorite Mexican rice. I made several alterations though: used sea salt (to taste) instead of garlic salt and added 2-3 cloves of garlic (crushed), omitted the cumin, and added 1 packet of "Sazon Goya-Con Cilantro y Tomate." It really adds to that authentic flavor you get in the best Mexican restaurants. The cook time is accurate, but I find that the last 5 min, I need to add a dash of broth to keep it from being too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
224 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Miller Motley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
This rice was so well-liked by my friends that we all agreed that it was the best mexican rice we'd ever had. I followed the recipe exactly the first time that I'd made this, but the second time I didn't have any tomato sauce so I used a 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes with the juice. I still used the same amount of water and it worked out perfectly. Very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
I know this is a wonderful recipe. I have been making this for years. I used to go visit my friend and then go watch her mother-in-law cook, This is al most exactly her recipe. The only changes she would make and I still do are use 1/2 tsp cumin seed instead of the graound coumin and also she would use a couple pieces of fresh garlic minced and browned with the onions. The rest is exactly as she made it and MMMMMMMM so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tosha Fields
Home Town: Cimarron, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
I was kind of nervous making this rice because I was craving the rice from my favourite Mexican restaurant, but this turned out great! I omitted the salt and just used fresh minced garlic instead and added some green onions along with the regular onions. I also used olive oil instead and did the 1.5 cups of broth to 0.5 cup tomato sauce and it turned out perfectly! Now I will make this rice when I can't get out to my favourite Mexican restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jellena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Don't let the name intimidate you. I am a chef at heart not by trade. I am of Mexican heritage and was the only one of 5 girls to learn to cook like Mama. This recipe is very close to what I learned to make from my mother. Slight differences are that we add a little less onion about 1/8 of a cup and we add about the same amount of chopped bell pepper that is added with the onions about half way through the sauteeing of the rice. Instead of garlic salt we use granulated garlic or fresh garlic which will add a little more flavor. We also add a dash of black pepper. If you don't have fresh chicken broth that is already salted, we use 2 cups water and about 1 1/2 Tblsp powdered chicken boullion by Knorr Suiza found on the Hispanic aisle which has lots of salt in it, no need for extra salt. I'm not sure about adding taco seasoning as other reviewers have suggested, this makes me think of Fast Food Bell rice. Homemade Mexican rice is not supposed to be over flavored, the main dish should have the flavor and or the salsa that you serve should be as spicy as you desire. These flavors should not be expected to be in the rice. I'd say this is a darn good recipe for anyone wanting to make homemade Mexican rice! My chef hat off to Mommyto2!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,835) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States