Mexican Rice II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2001
My family enjoyed this recipe. It is quick to make and is not too spicy. I think next time I will make it with water rather than chicken broth. I served it with Beef Enchiladas which made for a nice quick dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2001
I already had enchiladas baking when I realized I had forgtotten to make rice. I found this recipe and made it based on the ease of preparation. I was quite pleasantly surprised! What a very good recipe for Mexican rice - and a very quick and easy recipe to boot. I will make recipe regularly when preparing Mexican meals from now on. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2001
I was surprised at how good this simple recipe is! Very easy and makes great Mex rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2001
This rice was a hit with my family. My aunt said it was the best mexican rice that she has ever had. I will definitely use the recipe again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2001
This is a very tasty recipe. I used dried minced onions for the real minced onions and I used 2 oz of tomato paste for the tomato sauce, because I didn't have them. It still turned out great. This is a good recipe to prepare with the "chicken enchiladas II" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Severn, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2001
I don't care for Mexican rice but I made it for my boyfriend - He loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
Although this tasted basically like a rather bland Mexican rice, I had a few problems with it. First, my rice wouldn't brown (we won't even talk about the puffy aspect), although I followed the directions to the letter. Secondly, the rice wouldn't absorb all of the water and tomato sauce, even though I used a little extra rice and cooked it an extra ten minutes. My toddler inhales Mexican rice in a restaurant. He demanded we remove this from his plate. Please tell me what I'm doing wrong!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
A strong chicken broth is needed to make this good. KAET: I've never been able to get my rice to brown and/or puff in a skillet either, so I always use my rice cooker instead. I saute the onions, minced garlic and cumin in a skillet, then throw it into the rice cooker along with the 1 c. rice, 1-1/2 c. chicken broth and all the other ingredients, omitting the garlic salt. The cooker shuts off when the rice is done. Easy and very good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
242 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
This was a really quick and easy recipe to make. It's nice to find a recipe to make with things you pretty much have on hand. Thanks for the delicious recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2002
A very tasty recipe. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAMELLAB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,852) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States