Mexican Rice II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This is the way my family makes red rice! Love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Very good recipe. I'm on my 2nd bowl while writing this review. I used all the ingredients listed in the recipe, but made it my own with the following additions: I added a generous pinch of taco seasoning, a few threads of saffron, 1 sliced green onion, and a small handful of sun-dried tomatoes. I made a meal of it by adding 1 lb. of extra lean ground beef and a half cup or so of small red kidney beans. I'm looking forward to the leftovers tomorrow with a green side salad. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Y'ALL. I didn't even have all of the required ingredients, and this was PERFECT! I live in Texas and I LOVE LOVE LOVE refried beans and rice that you get at (Tex)Mexican restaurants. I had resigned myself to believing that you just can't make that kind of rice at home. WRONG! This was delicious. I will definitely make it again. Just like the restaurants. Here's my adjustments: Omitted onion (too lazy to chop right now...) Used a squirt of ketchup instead of tomato sauce (weird right? it totally worked! I would reduce amount of tomato sauce in original recipe) used rice from a boil in a bag pouch that I cut open. added chili powder and paprika. BOOM! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
My rice is always an epic failure… so I am really excited that you posted this. We’ll see if my next attempt at rice making goes better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 04machandroll
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I made a flat bread pork chop sandwich with Mexican rice on the side. That's right!...It wen't really well. The rice came out awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
omg this was SO delicious! i took Valerie's Kitchen's advice about using Taco Seasoning I from here in place of the garlic salt and cumin. bf said it was just as good if not better than his ex's mom's mexican rice and that's saying a lot bc she's from mexico and is an awesome cook according to him.. ty so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Very good, simple, unassuming side dish. Perfect complement to a strongly flavored main course. I added a little green pepper, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katjanas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
ok, but nothing great. Won't make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Best Fried Rice I have ever had. I use 2-3 minced garlic cloves & regular salt because I don't have garlic salt. After I stir in tomato sauce; I transfer the mixture into a rice cooker add a cup of mixed frozen vegetables and chicken broth, stir and walk away. This makes it even easier. This is a popular re-occurring dish in my house. It's great to take to a pot-lock as my friends always ask me to bring it. They love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
easy and simple! kids love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harperhabitat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Colfax, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,836) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States