Mexican Rice II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
This is the best I've tried so far. After trying it as written, which was really good, I've made a few changes. Instead of tomato sauce I use enchilada sauce and I also add 1/2 tsp of chili powder and a pinch or two of red pepper or flakes. And my family don't like onions so I just use powder in place of it. On occasion I have sub chicken broth for beef. Its so good either way and the original way. U can't go wrong with this recipe in my opinion. I've made it over 30 times soooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Rice turned out really good. I did use a little more cumin but other than that I followed the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Easy and delicious -- the only thing that stopped me from giving it 5 stars is that I think it's a little oily. I doubled the recipe and fortunately did not use the website adjustment because it said to use 1/4 cup + 2 T oil. When I made it, I used 1/4 cup oil. I think next time I make this I'll use about half the amount of oil + a pat of butter. Also, smells wonderful while it's cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moza
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Was my first time cooking my own mexican rice and it certainly wont be the last !! i have followed this recipe exactly as it was, the only change i made was that i used brown rice, but you wont be able to notice the difference i promise. It tasted flavourful yet subtle i served it with the slow cooker pepper steak recipe and the combination was divine 1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
It looked gorgeous but the rice really wasn't flavorful. It tasted like really wet regular rice. I even added extra seasonings like garlic and chili powder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I had this rice recipe at my daughter's and it was delicious, there were no leftovers. Looking forward to making it often at home. Crushed-ewe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
This is a good basic recipe for Mexican rice. We used it as a side dish and a topping for the Weeknight Skillet Fajitas recipe from this site. The only changes I made to the rice were to cook the onions (with minced garlic and cumin) first (omitting the garlic salt) and added a small amount of diced jalapeños. Unfortunately, the jalapeños made it extremely hot, so next time I will use diced mild green chili peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
This was great! Really really great! I will be making this in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I cooked this tonight for our Lifegroup and while it was pretty tasty it also turned out kind of mushy. I make a serving for 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Absolutely just like the rice in good Mexican restaurants. Basic bu excellent. Comes out perfectly. I typically have trouble with rice and use a cooker. Not anymore with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,836) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States