Mexican Rice II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2015
This is a great starter recipe. After the first time making this I made the following changes. I like the rice sautéd in butter, added fresh minced garlic and the chopped onions once the rice start turning brown. Put unsalted chicken stock in a large bowl, added petite diced tomatoes, cumin, fresh or dried cilantro, salt and pepper. Stir to mix all the ingredients then add to the rice, let simmer 20/25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
Thank you for this great recipe! It has become a family staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trudy Brown Verzosa
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
The most authentic Mexican rice recipe we've ever made. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
Perfect. Exactly the "restaurant-style" flavor I was looking for and very simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
I made this rice last night for our Taco Tuesday dinner. We all liked it. I left out the vegetable oil, put all other ingredients in my rice cooker and 20 minutes later we had a great side dish. I did have to add a little more broth to the rice than the recipe called but I'm sure that is because I put it in the rice cooker instead of cooking the way the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
Excellent recipe as written. I made a few subtle changes due to personal taste. I used Knorr chicken bouillon dissolved into 2 cups water vs chicken broth, garlic powder to taste vs garlic salt and I cut the onion down to 1/8 cup. Excellent! I found that cooking it the full 25 minutes was perfect. The rice was not dry at all. This is becoming a staple dish in my home and it has just the right hint of flavor without taking away from the main dish. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
This comes out perfect every time I make it. Be sure to make this according to the recipe. It may not seem like it will turn out but it does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
Just made this recipe--as in it is still on the stove waiting to be eaten! It smells SO GOOD and tastes even better. We did substitute a can of Rotel tomatoes for the tomato sauce it gave it a bit of a kick. Can't wait to have it for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Burt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
I was just browsing when I saw this recipe. I made it with fajitas, and my family loved it! I don't use garlic salt in my kitchen so in place of it I just added a tsp. Salt and a tsp. Minced garlic. Seriously so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
So I guess I changed the recipe quite a bit. instead of garlic salt I used 2 cloves of garlic and instead of cumin I used about 2 tbsp of taco seasoning. I also cooked my onion first then my rice and added a can of mixed vegetables and topped the whole thing with cheddar cheese. but it was amazing. it tasted just like rice from the restaurant and there was none left. will definitely be making this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,866) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States