Mexican Rice I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
This was so good. I didnt add the tomato, I add chicken and tomato bouillon. It turn out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Very good and great tasting. I am for some reason not very good at cooking rice. This came out slightly mushy and I had not even cooked it for the full amount of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama to JRG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I have been looking for years for a Mexican rice recipe and have finally found it!!! This is awesome. I did make a slight change. I added chicken tomato bouillon to the water and it is awesome!!!! Will never buy store mixes again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
We really like this recipe as a standby for taco night. We usually substitute about a 1/4 cup salsa for the tomatoes, because who wants to open up a whole can just for that? Super fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lissy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
very easy mexican rice recipe. i liked the cumin and chili powder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Love this rice. It is perfect as is. I have used diced tomatoes with green chilies. This adds a bit more kick. Either is excellent. I serve this rice with every Mexican meal I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bargello

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
It might be unfair for me to rate this as I changed it so much! But, I used 1 bag of instant rice instead of regular. I also do not like cumin or chili powder accept maybe in tacos as the taste is so strong! So, I just minced a clove of garlic. Lastly, I used vegetable broth in place of the water which adds a lot more flavor. Because I used instant rice it only needed to boil for about 5 minutes or less, an added bonus, as I was busy. This recipe is very adaptable, but if you like a milder rice skip the spices and add a clove of minced fresh garlic like I did. Was all eaten up with the chicken tacos it was served with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I love this rice dish, I used to buy the microwavable packets and I can't believe it was that easy to make this myself without spending a fortune on packet rice. I added some spring onions and had this as a side dish with chicken. Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Taste exactly like the rice you would have at a Mexican Restaurant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LevatinoWife

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Well, I was going to rate this 3 stars, then realized salt IS listed in the ingredients. Not sure how I missed that! I did add a diced jalapeno (seeds and membrane included) and would do that again. I missed the flavor of garlic in this SO MUCH. So much so that finally I couldn't stand it anymore and had to add garlic powder at the table, which bums me out because garlic powder is such a waste compared to what this COULD HAVE been like. In the future I would absolutely saute a smashed garlic clove (or 2!) with the rice just before adding the liquids, stirring constantly to keep it from burning. I'd up the spices, too, but that's just me, I prefer everything spicier than others do :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States