Mexican Rice I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Very good and great tasting. I am for some reason not very good at cooking rice. This came out slightly mushy and I had not even cooked it for the full amount of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama to JRG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I have been looking for years for a Mexican rice recipe and have finally found it!!! This is awesome. I did make a slight change. I added chicken tomato bouillon to the water and it is awesome!!!! Will never buy store mixes again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
We really like this recipe as a standby for taco night. We usually substitute about a 1/4 cup salsa for the tomatoes, because who wants to open up a whole can just for that? Super fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lissy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
very easy mexican rice recipe. i liked the cumin and chili powder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Love this rice. It is perfect as is. I have used diced tomatoes with green chilies. This adds a bit more kick. Either is excellent. I serve this rice with every Mexican meal I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bargello

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
It might be unfair for me to rate this as I changed it so much! But, I used 1 bag of instant rice instead of regular. I also do not like cumin or chili powder accept maybe in tacos as the taste is so strong! So, I just minced a clove of garlic. Lastly, I used vegetable broth in place of the water which adds a lot more flavor. Because I used instant rice it only needed to boil for about 5 minutes or less, an added bonus, as I was busy. This recipe is very adaptable, but if you like a milder rice skip the spices and add a clove of minced fresh garlic like I did. Was all eaten up with the chicken tacos it was served with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I love this rice dish, I used to buy the microwavable packets and I can't believe it was that easy to make this myself without spending a fortune on packet rice. I added some spring onions and had this as a side dish with chicken. Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Taste exactly like the rice you would have at a Mexican Restaurant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LevatinoWife

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Well, I was going to rate this 3 stars, then realized salt IS listed in the ingredients. Not sure how I missed that! I did add a diced jalapeno (seeds and membrane included) and would do that again. I missed the flavor of garlic in this SO MUCH. So much so that finally I couldn't stand it anymore and had to add garlic powder at the table, which bums me out because garlic powder is such a waste compared to what this COULD HAVE been like. In the future I would absolutely saute a smashed garlic clove (or 2!) with the rice just before adding the liquids, stirring constantly to keep it from burning. I'd up the spices, too, but that's just me, I prefer everything spicier than others do :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
My family just loves this rice. I made it like the recipe suggests but once I had no tomatoes so I added salsa. Wow.....a party in your mouth! Great recipe without changes and the amount of spices adds wonderful tastes. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States