Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I just made this and am enjoying it for dinner right now. This is delicious and very easy to make! I am vegetarian, so instead of ground beef I used one of those soy meatless ground "meat" packages that simulates ground beef and it came out wonderfully. I did not have chili powder on hand, so I used a bit of cyan pepper instead. These were the only deviations from the original recipe, and it is a meal in itself. Serve it hot off the stove, sprinkle on a lot of shredded cheese, let it get melty and enjoy. It could be a good side dish, but I'm eating it in a bowl on its own. I also plan to use some as burrito filling. Excellent dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyKat83

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This made a wonderful filling for burritos! Definitely going to be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Was good - liked it better with enchilada sauce instead of tomato sauce. Also added some hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Very hearty and filling meal. I use half a packet of taco seasoning in place of the spices. Also good to create a burrito and serve in soft warm tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This was delicious! Next time, I'm going to double it, eat dinner, add beans to leftovers and have burritos for lunch the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpflounder

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Thanks for the great recipe. I enjoyed this recipe but I cook as I go - even mixing recipes sometimes to suit what I'm looking for. Just thought I'd add that a can of mexican corn is great to throw in if you don't have fresh corn kernels. This time, I left out the hamburger {and apparently forgot the cheese both times) and it was a great side! To those of you who do review and mention additions or changes - I really appreciate the input because sometimes there is a review with a great idea that I would maybe not have come up with. But, I do agree that one shouldn't change the entire recipe then say it tastes bad and give a bad review. This is a keeper in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Fabuloso! It is really easy, tasty and filling. I made a few minor changes. I added 1/4 tsp cumin and 1/2 packet of Goya Sazon Con Culantro Y Achiote. I also used 1 drained can of whole kernel corn instead of fresh corn. I threw it all in the rice cooker. I also left out the cheese. I will definitely make again. I served with Mexican Corn Bread (recipe on allrecipes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Armstead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Made this last night and was very pleased. I used 1 bag of success rice and added a can of rinsed pinto beans. I also used a taco season pack because I was out of chili powder. We sprinkled cilanto and cheese on top and a dollop of sour cream. I'm going to try this next week with Asian flavors and swap out corn for zuccini or asparagus. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Albans, Vermont, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Very good, but i think cheese part is unnecessary because it makes the rice taste very milky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

One Skillet Mexican Quinoa

One skillet meal full of Mexican-inspired ingredients and flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States