Mexican Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Yum! Quinoa is out of my families comfort zone because I have only made it once (and that was a big fail). I followed the directions this time and it came out delish! I had homemade chicken stock and taco seasoning mix since we have to eat low sodium. I added garbanzo beans the last 5 minutes and fresh spinach after taking it off the burner. Total healthy meal! Hubbie had to add cheese to the top of his and he ate it with tortilla chips, but he two bowls! Thank you for sharing this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
This was a big hit in my house - everyone loved it much more than the Spanish rice I have made. Very tasty, and this was my first foray into using quinoa. I will definitely be cooking this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danelle Schwertner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Very good! Make sure not to add too much jalapeño.. It overpowers the other tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Great recipe! I made it according to the directions except I did add a can of drained black beans. We garnished it with green onions, cheese, and Greek yogurt instead of sour cream. Will be making this again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Love this recipe! The flavor is perfect. And if one vital dummy-proof instruction were included, I'd give it 5 stars. Be sure to COVER while it simmers, otherwise the liquid will absorb faster than the quinoa will be prepared. This will lead to a hard texture. My daughter won this argument as to why she didn't cover the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Yum! I just got back from a fat lady weekend in Vegas, and was craving some delicious Mexican food. I wanted something that was going to be an alternative to the traditional heavy and cheesy Mexican, so I searched a Mexican quinoa to sub in for the rice to compliment my Mexican turkey lettuce wraps. This was delicious and was better than the rice I usually make. I don't think I'll ever make rice with my Mexican food ever again! I included the jalapeño, but I think next time I'll add two! Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmj92101
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
I prepared dish according to instructions, with the exception of using "no salt added" chicken broth and I used more broth to cook the quinoa longer in order to get it to the consistency I like. Absolutely a keeper and I agree with other reviews that grilled shrimp would be a nice addition to this dish to take it from a side dish to an entree. The cilantro took it from good to great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Loved it! Reminded me of Mexican home cooking with a healthier flare. I did make some changes based on our likes. I used 1 3/4 cup broth instead of the 2 cups. I didn't have onion so I used onion powder. Instead of taco seasoning, 1 tsp cumin. Once I added everything to the pan, I added about 7-8 fresh baby carrots and cilantro. This allows the cilantro to infuse its flavor while cooking. The carrots we use in traditional Mexican rice to make it a little sweeter. Don't get me wrong, it's not like sugar but cuts through the spice a bit. Loved it. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I thought this might make me like quinoa but it didn't. It was bitter, mushy and too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States