Mexican Pumpkin Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I have made these a few times now. I wll say that mine never come out looking very pretty in color. I have brushed the egg on them and even topped them with a little bit of cinnamon/sugar mixture. This time I decided to put them under the broiler (on Lo) for a couple of minutes. It worked! They came out beautifully browned like I think they should look. (This could just be a problem with my oven though that I have to do this.) However, they alwys taste really good with or without the broiling part.. I don't see how you can make these without doubling the dough. There is always way too much filling leftover. The dough is too soft to put any more filling than I do already. I do add cinnamon to the dough as well. It just gives it that extra special cinnamony taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by **Jude**
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This recipe is delicious! Totally loooved the pastry, think you can use it with pineapple, apple or any other filling and will work perfect too. I add cream cheese to the pumpkin mixture cause I didn't have the 4 cups of pumpkin but only 3, so it was a pretty aaawesome risk I took there, creamy and delicious. At the end I had pumpkin filling enough for a whole pumpkin pie. I went all the way lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by **Jude**

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chihuahua, Chihuahua, Mexico
Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
The ingredients and measurements for this recipe was perfect! I just used pumpkin made from scratch instead of the can. This was a big hit for our "Friendsgiving" dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I really liked this recipe! I didn't alter it in any way except by mistake. I didn't realize what the beaten egg was used for, got scared and added it the mix. Also I forgot to add any baking soda per other reviews. All in all everything came out splendidly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
My friend and I tried this recipe and loved it. We made a few adjustments to the recipe, however. We did as other reviewers suggested and added a bit of cinnamon to the dough to make it a little spicy. To the filling, we added a bit of enchilada sauce and cheddar cheese to make it a bit heavier and not overly sweet. We only used about half the sugar that the recipe called for as well. After baking, we poured a little more enchilada sauce on top and devoured them. Overall, would definitely make again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rickgornek
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
They came out awesome. My wife is Mexican and she said that they were excellent. I am an amature at baking and they came out perfect. Thanks for the Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
very good recipe, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I made these with corn flour,because I can not have gluten.Did not change anything else.DELICIOUS! Everyone loved them,and could not believe they were not made with wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
This recipe was delicious! i didn't make it with pumpkin though (don't really like it. instead i just put strawberry jelly and they tasted GREAT! they are easy to make and tatse even better then store bought one's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baldwin Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabby Beltran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

These delicious cupcakes make any fall occasion special.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States