Mexican Pumpkin Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I've wanted to try making empanadas for a long time but my grandmother passed away before I was interested in learning how to make them. This recipe was easy & came out great! I added cinnamon to the dough because I remembered grandma doing that and used one large can of pumpkin instead of 4 cups. Great reviews from everybody who's eaten them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Basic but delicious recipe. I decided to add some ground cinnamon into the dough for a bit more color/flavor and they came out great, my friends and family ate them all within 2 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
A correction is needed it the Directions. 1/4 tsp baking powder needs o the dry ingredients. I almost missed putting that in! These turned out great. I used one large can of pumpkin, instead of 4 cups. just like an other reveiwer had mentioned. Everything else I kept the same, but next time I am going to try the cinnamon in the pastry dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QUILTINGMAMASITA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Habra, California, USA
Living In: Kelseyville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was my first time making empanadas and with this recipe, they came out fantastic! It can get kinda messy doing the prepping, but it was worth it. Made these on two separate occasions for both sides of the family and they all loved them. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~X~
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I added some ground cinnamon to the flour mixture like a couple of other reviewers, 5 tsp. of it. I used butter instead of shortening and I used 4 cups of sweet potato that I wanted to use up, instead of pumpkin. Sweet potato and pumpkin taste the same to me anyway. Don't forget the 1/4 tsp of baking powder which is omitted in the directions. When the empanadas first came out of the oven the taste of ginger was over powering, but by the next day the flavors had melded and the flavors were just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~X~

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Used pre-made refrigerated pie crust. Dusted with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Delicious! Since moving from CA to the midwest we miss our local mexican bakery and have been trying to find a recipe that is similiar to the pumpkin empanadas we would order by the dozen. This is the first recipe that comes close. Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by breezeinmo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Perryville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Easy and delicious recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I only tried the dough, and it was delicious! Thanks for a great base recipe, you can use sweet or salty fillings according to need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

These delicious cupcakes make any fall occasion special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States