Mexican Pumpkin Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Tasty! Remember to add the baking powder to the dry ingredients (recipe mistake) but otherwise delicious! 4 cups of pumpkin is about a cup too much, but I'll just either make more or put it in a pie or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I didn't care for this at all, but hubby & the neighbors liked it. I may try using the crust with an apple pie filling & see if it is any better. I would've only given this a 1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Perfect dough recipe for empanadas! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline Valdez

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dana Point, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This recipe is a good base to start from, but I reccomend several changes. First, it is much easier to use pre-made dough or a pie crust. Second, try mixing more cinnamon and some nutmeg into the filling mixture. I also added sweetened cream cheese into the filling, and after they were done baking I made a thin carmel icing that I dipped them into after they cooled. It hardened on the outside and took the "boredom" out of the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
The inside of the empanadas could have used some more seasoning, would have been better with a more pumpkin pie taste. The outside of my empanadas broke, almost all over them broke down the center. I followed the directions exactly. While they were still edible, their appearance wasn't nice. I wouldn't recommend these, could use some more taste in the dough of the breading and some more taste in the filling, kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
The dough recipe is perfect, I've had trouble with it before with different recipes in the past. I would also like to remind people to add the baking powder just as others have mentioned in their reviews. I also added a couple teaspoons of cinnamon to the dough. After putting the egg wash on the empanadas, I sprinkled them with cinnamon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I only tried the dough, and it was delicious! Thanks for a great base recipe, you can use sweet or salty fillings according to need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Easy and delicious recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Delicious! Since moving from CA to the midwest we miss our local mexican bakery and have been trying to find a recipe that is similiar to the pumpkin empanadas we would order by the dozen. This is the first recipe that comes close. Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by breezeinmo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Perryville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Used pre-made refrigerated pie crust. Dusted with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

These delicious cupcakes make any fall occasion special.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States