Mexican Pumpkin Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
This recipe was delicious! i didn't make it with pumpkin though (don't really like it. instead i just put strawberry jelly and they tasted GREAT! they are easy to make and tatse even better then store bought one's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baldwin Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabby Beltran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This is a good recipe. I had to modify the dough recipe to get it to taste like a traditional Mexican Empanada dough. I also added more spices to the pumpkin mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carmind
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I followed it step by step exept their actual size and my empanadas came out perfectly! LoVVE IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmind

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seguin, Texas, USA
Photo by SEYRAH
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
There's a reason there's a dough recipe here people; it's not just a pie crust. The dough is much more spongy and sweet than pie crust, so no wonder those who use premade crusts are returning less-than-stellar reviews. This is a great recipe, and tastes almost exactly like my mom's empanadas. I used butter instead of shortening, and cut it down to about 3/4 cup because the dough felt right to me then. Also cut my empanadas a little smaller and ended up with some extra filling, but that's okay with me as it gives me an excuse to make more empanadas. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEYRAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oro Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Loved these!! I found though that I had lots of leftover filling, so I will have to make another batch of pastry for it, but that is OK. :) I also had to bake them for about 40 minutes - but other than those small things they were amazing, even better than the ones I get at the market!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I used this recipe for just the dough, I didnt have pumpkin but I had alot of extra bananas, I just made up my own banana mixture and used it in the dough. The dough came out quite nice, I did add a little cinnamon to the mix and sprinkled a little sugar on top before baking. I used to make alot of banana bread but I will be making these instead, its the same amount of ingredients, just used differently. I live in Guatemala and shared some with my in-laws, They all loved them, so overall everything came out very nice. I guess you really could put anything in them to suit your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
My husband is Mexican and he gave this a thumbs up. I also added cinnamon to the dough per his suggestion. I skipped the egg wash, just out of personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Tasty! Remember to add the baking powder to the dry ingredients (recipe mistake) but otherwise delicious! 4 cups of pumpkin is about a cup too much, but I'll just either make more or put it in a pie or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I didn't care for this at all, but hubby & the neighbors liked it. I may try using the crust with an apple pie filling & see if it is any better. I would've only given this a 1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

These delicious cupcakes make any fall occasion special.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States