Mexican Pumpkin Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I made these with corn flour,because I can not have gluten.Did not change anything else.DELICIOUS! Everyone loved them,and could not believe they were not made with wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
This recipe was delicious! i didn't make it with pumpkin though (don't really like it. instead i just put strawberry jelly and they tasted GREAT! they are easy to make and tatse even better then store bought one's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baldwin Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabby Beltran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This is a good recipe. I had to modify the dough recipe to get it to taste like a traditional Mexican Empanada dough. I also added more spices to the pumpkin mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carmind
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I followed it step by step exept their actual size and my empanadas came out perfectly! LoVVE IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmind

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seguin, Texas, USA
Photo by SEYRAH
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
There's a reason there's a dough recipe here people; it's not just a pie crust. The dough is much more spongy and sweet than pie crust, so no wonder those who use premade crusts are returning less-than-stellar reviews. This is a great recipe, and tastes almost exactly like my mom's empanadas. I used butter instead of shortening, and cut it down to about 3/4 cup because the dough felt right to me then. Also cut my empanadas a little smaller and ended up with some extra filling, but that's okay with me as it gives me an excuse to make more empanadas. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEYRAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oro Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Loved these!! I found though that I had lots of leftover filling, so I will have to make another batch of pastry for it, but that is OK. :) I also had to bake them for about 40 minutes - but other than those small things they were amazing, even better than the ones I get at the market!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I used this recipe for just the dough, I didnt have pumpkin but I had alot of extra bananas, I just made up my own banana mixture and used it in the dough. The dough came out quite nice, I did add a little cinnamon to the mix and sprinkled a little sugar on top before baking. I used to make alot of banana bread but I will be making these instead, its the same amount of ingredients, just used differently. I live in Guatemala and shared some with my in-laws, They all loved them, so overall everything came out very nice. I guess you really could put anything in them to suit your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
My husband is Mexican and he gave this a thumbs up. I also added cinnamon to the dough per his suggestion. I skipped the egg wash, just out of personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Tasty! Remember to add the baking powder to the dry ingredients (recipe mistake) but otherwise delicious! 4 cups of pumpkin is about a cup too much, but I'll just either make more or put it in a pie or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

These delicious cupcakes make any fall occasion special.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States