Mexican Pumpkin Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Carmind
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I followed it step by step exept their actual size and my empanadas came out perfectly! LoVVE IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmind

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seguin, Texas, USA
Photo by SEYRAH
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
There's a reason there's a dough recipe here people; it's not just a pie crust. The dough is much more spongy and sweet than pie crust, so no wonder those who use premade crusts are returning less-than-stellar reviews. This is a great recipe, and tastes almost exactly like my mom's empanadas. I used butter instead of shortening, and cut it down to about 3/4 cup because the dough felt right to me then. Also cut my empanadas a little smaller and ended up with some extra filling, but that's okay with me as it gives me an excuse to make more empanadas. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEYRAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oro Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Loved these!! I found though that I had lots of leftover filling, so I will have to make another batch of pastry for it, but that is OK. :) I also had to bake them for about 40 minutes - but other than those small things they were amazing, even better than the ones I get at the market!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I used this recipe for just the dough, I didnt have pumpkin but I had alot of extra bananas, I just made up my own banana mixture and used it in the dough. The dough came out quite nice, I did add a little cinnamon to the mix and sprinkled a little sugar on top before baking. I used to make alot of banana bread but I will be making these instead, its the same amount of ingredients, just used differently. I live in Guatemala and shared some with my in-laws, They all loved them, so overall everything came out very nice. I guess you really could put anything in them to suit your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
My husband is Mexican and he gave this a thumbs up. I also added cinnamon to the dough per his suggestion. I skipped the egg wash, just out of personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Tasty! Remember to add the baking powder to the dry ingredients (recipe mistake) but otherwise delicious! 4 cups of pumpkin is about a cup too much, but I'll just either make more or put it in a pie or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I didn't care for this at all, but hubby & the neighbors liked it. I may try using the crust with an apple pie filling & see if it is any better. I would've only given this a 1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Perfect dough recipe for empanadas! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline Valdez

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dana Point, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This recipe is a good base to start from, but I reccomend several changes. First, it is much easier to use pre-made dough or a pie crust. Second, try mixing more cinnamon and some nutmeg into the filling mixture. I also added sweetened cream cheese into the filling, and after they were done baking I made a thin carmel icing that I dipped them into after they cooled. It hardened on the outside and took the "boredom" out of the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
The inside of the empanadas could have used some more seasoning, would have been better with a more pumpkin pie taste. The outside of my empanadas broke, almost all over them broke down the center. I followed the directions exactly. While they were still edible, their appearance wasn't nice. I wouldn't recommend these, could use some more taste in the dough of the breading and some more taste in the filling, kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Pumpkin Fluff Dip

This creamy vanilla-flavored pumpkin dip is super-easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States