Mexican Pumpkin Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jessica.nemec
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
Well, these are super tasty--not too sweet and they have a nice texture. However, it's sooo messy! It could be my technique or lack thereof, but all my empanadas look ugly. They're wonderful, but just don't look appetizing. I guess it's what's on the inside that counts? Anyway, thanks for the recipe. I will try to refine my methods!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Yes my mother used to make them and I had lost the recipe! So I'm glad I found your's and my mother used to use Anise in the water remove the anise seeds and use the water it makes the Empanadas taste so good! FranfromSpain
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Arnee
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
I did try the original recipe but didn't care for the pumpkin filling. It wasn't sweet enough for me and needed a little more spice. I added cinnamon to the dough and used 1/2 cup sugar instead of 1/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I have made these a few times now. I wll say that mine never come out looking very pretty in color. I have brushed the egg on them and even topped them with a little bit of cinnamon/sugar mixture. This time I decided to put them under the broiler (on Lo) for a couple of minutes. It worked! They came out beautifully browned like I think they should look. (This could just be a problem with my oven though that I have to do this.) However, they alwys taste really good with or without the broiling part.. I don't see how you can make these without doubling the dough. There is always way too much filling leftover. The dough is too soft to put any more filling than I do already. I do add cinnamon to the dough as well. It just gives it that extra special cinnamony taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by **Jude**
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This recipe is delicious! Totally loooved the pastry, think you can use it with pineapple, apple or any other filling and will work perfect too. I add cream cheese to the pumpkin mixture cause I didn't have the 4 cups of pumpkin but only 3, so it was a pretty aaawesome risk I took there, creamy and delicious. At the end I had pumpkin filling enough for a whole pumpkin pie. I went all the way lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by **Jude**

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chihuahua, Chihuahua, Mexico
Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
The ingredients and measurements for this recipe was perfect! I just used pumpkin made from scratch instead of the can. This was a big hit for our "Friendsgiving" dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I really liked this recipe! I didn't alter it in any way except by mistake. I didn't realize what the beaten egg was used for, got scared and added it the mix. Also I forgot to add any baking soda per other reviews. All in all everything came out splendidly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
My friend and I tried this recipe and loved it. We made a few adjustments to the recipe, however. We did as other reviewers suggested and added a bit of cinnamon to the dough to make it a little spicy. To the filling, we added a bit of enchilada sauce and cheddar cheese to make it a bit heavier and not overly sweet. We only used about half the sugar that the recipe called for as well. After baking, we poured a little more enchilada sauce on top and devoured them. Overall, would definitely make again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rickgornek
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
They came out awesome. My wife is Mexican and she said that they were excellent. I am an amature at baking and they came out perfect. Thanks for the Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
very good recipe, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

These delicious cupcakes make any fall occasion special.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States