Mexican Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefsruleforever

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I prepared these to add to our tradtional latkes for Hannukkah this year as we were fixing other Mexican foods for dinner this year. I kicked them up a notch by adding chayenne pepper to make them spicier. They turned out exceptionally crispy with just the right mount of heat. My family asked me to fix them again for next year. They can be fixed ahead and frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
These were very yummy! I just served mine with salsa instead of making the tomato puree..it seemed like a lot of work for basically the same result. I also served with sour cream on top. The diced jalapeno gave it a nice kick. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newsox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
So good! A great twist on comfort food, and a great option as a side for mexican dishes. Used canned diced tomatoes and followed the recipe as written. I love it when a recipe exceeds my expectations as this did! I think next time I'll make pizzas or open face sandwiches with the pancakes by topping with taco meat, cheese, and other taco stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Good take on potato pancakes. Somehow, these don't seem as greasy as potato pancakes usually are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
These are easy to tailor to kids and adults. I make half plain and have spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Made sauce in blender - one can of diced tomatoes with chilis, one onion (quartered), couple spoonfuls of jalapenos (jarred), added to saucepan with oil. Left skin on potatoes, used food processor with the shredding blade, added couple of spoonfuls of jalapenos (jarred) too. Used eggbeaters, and chinese hot sauce (about a tablespoon). The sauce was amazing.. I would put this on everything! Not the healthiest but really tasty way to use up some of my potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendenj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
These friend up great and the directions were easy enough to follow. I did squeeze out as much of the liquid as I could after shredding the potatoes. Also this did not have enough heat for me next time I'll just remove the seeds, and leave the ribs in. Quick tip, be sure to keep plenty oil in the bottom of your pan or your cakes will not brown evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grifo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cragsmoor, New York, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I agree with others regarding the salsa being bland, I would rather use one of my mother's authentic salsa recipes for these potato pancakes otherwise the pancakes came out delicious. (Self note: add more salt next time)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
This is a great recipe. I did add a bit more hot sauce because my family and I love spicy food. The second time I made this I used frozen shredded potatoes and I have to say that although it was easier they just weren't as good. I definitely recomend putting in the extra time and useing freshly grated potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States