Mexican Potato Nachos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
This was excellent. My hubby and I gobbled it up! I read a bunch of the reviews, and then did it like this: I peeled the potatoes, and sliced them between 1/4 and 1/2" thick. I used enough to cover the bottom of a 9x13 glass pan. I swirled the potatoes with more than a tbsp of oil, laid them out in the pan, and sprinkled with the pepper and salt. I baked them for longer than 10 minutes--probably about 20 minutes. They were starting to brown on the top--perfect! It made the recipe taste a little like a smothered bake potato. I used a pound of meat, and a whole packet of low sodium taco seasoning in the meat/beans mixture, and skipped the oil. (However, I didn't use the whole meat mixture in the recipe; there were leftovers for tomorrow.) I used a cheddar/jack mix, as someone recommended. For toppings, I used lettuce, tomatoes, salsa, sour cream, black olives and no heat (jarred) jalapeños. Unfortunately I didn't have avocado/guac on hand. Delicious! A definite keeper. And BTW, I don't give out a lot of 5 star reviews. Thanks for sharing! PS-It would be nice to be able to add reviews from my ipad (which is what I use in the kitchen). Why won't it take my stars?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Yeah, the picture looks great, and I was looking for comfort food and something fun for the family. However as I mixed together the beans and meat it looked like...something inedible. I felt bad serving it to my sons, who ate it politely. Sorry. I think traditional nachos are the way to go. Potatoes don't have the same *crunch* no matter how long you roast them. The hot bean and meat mixture makes the potatoes soft and indistinguishable. It's like beans on top of giant beans with bits of ground beef here and there. Get the picture? Keeping the beans and beef separated might improve the recipe. In addition, I'd nix the taco seasoning, and add just a little chili powder and salt to the ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Totally awesome! My wife and I devoured this. Will become a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
This is an awesome Friday night snack dinner. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Keswick, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
This dish was really good. I'll make it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
If my picky kids ask for more, I know we found a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Delicious. Very versatile. Use parchment paper to avoid the potatoes sticking. Buy organic potatoes, wash, and do NOT peel for additional nutrition or substitute sweet potatoes. No guacamole so simply used avocado slices. I liked a little more meat in the dish, increase to 3/4 lb. Needs much more than 1/4 cup lettuce and definitely use salsa as topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
These were pretty good, very filling. I think were a lot of effort for some that tastes good but also tastes so simple. I'll make them again when i feel like making the time for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Great recipe when I had some potatoes I needed to use up. Will be a good one when my grandson comes to spend a few weeks here in the summer. I did add some onion to ground meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Venice, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This was great! I added a little smoked chipotle seasoning and garlic powder to the potatoes and turned them half way through. The beauty of it is, you can add the toppings you like. I added black olives and onions. LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Potato Nachos

Taters step in for tortilla chips, & nachos get an instant upgrade to main dish.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Potato Chips

See how to make thin, crispy homemade chips in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States