Mexican Potato Nachos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
My mom an I made this recipe and the family loved it, it made more then you thought. Can be a meal on its own. I would definatly make this again and this beats regular nachos hands down...whats great about this recipe is you can do alot with it by adding a bit of this or that...plus its great just like this way too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
This is sooooo yummy! I added chopped onion to meat and bean mixture and used fajita seasoning instead of taco seasoning. My husband loves this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Lewis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
My husband & I love...love this recipe. So easy to make & would be great for Super Bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by florynl
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
We tripled the recipe as my husband didn't think it would be enough for a main dish. We will be eating left overs for the next week. I did do as someone suggested and flipped my potatoes but I did follow the recipe as is. This is a keeper. We put the sour cream, guacamole, and salsa on the side as well as jalapeño pepper slices and olives as my daughter isn't a pepper or olive fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Potato-lover bf loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
This was a nice change from plain old nachos. My family liked it. I pretty much doubled the recipe using the entire package of taco seasoning and a pound of beef. I didn't take time to make guacamole-I hate store bought-but salsa was great with it. I would make this again. If you have potato lovers in your house, they will definitely like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
We liked this very much. Very simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I have never thought of using potatoes as a nacho base, but after making these and using the recipe for Taco seasoning 1 on this sight, I now how a favorite nacho dish =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
These were different ... I'm glad I tried the recipe, but I - well, it's just not for us. They're not bad by any means - but as someone pointed out, they're just so heavy and there's no crunch or texture. I felt like I was eating leftover chili wedge fries. They were much improved once you added the tomatoes, sour cream, and guac ... but I think I'd just as soon use the mixture on baked tortilla chips as opposed to potatoes. Thanks so much for recipe. Update: in retrospect, I did make sure to cut potatoes 1/2" thick ... I've leftover meat mixture and may try again tonight cutting them to 1/4" thickness as MissKitty suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
This was excellent. My hubby and I gobbled it up! I read a bunch of the reviews, and then did it like this: I peeled the potatoes, and sliced them between 1/4 and 1/2" thick. I used enough to cover the bottom of a 9x13 glass pan. I swirled the potatoes with more than a tbsp of oil, laid them out in the pan, and sprinkled with the pepper and salt. I baked them for longer than 10 minutes--probably about 20 minutes. They were starting to brown on the top--perfect! It made the recipe taste a little like a smothered bake potato. I used a pound of meat, and a whole packet of low sodium taco seasoning in the meat/beans mixture, and skipped the oil. (However, I didn't use the whole meat mixture in the recipe; there were leftovers for tomorrow.) I used a cheddar/jack mix, as someone recommended. For toppings, I used lettuce, tomatoes, salsa, sour cream, black olives and no heat (jarred) jalapeños. Unfortunately I didn't have avocado/guac on hand. Delicious! A definite keeper. And BTW, I don't give out a lot of 5 star reviews. Thanks for sharing! PS-It would be nice to be able to add reviews from my ipad (which is what I use in the kitchen). Why won't it take my stars?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Potato Nachos

Taters step in for tortilla chips, & nachos get an instant upgrade to main dish.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Potato Chips

See how to make thin, crispy homemade chips in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States